Brown, Torretta join Hall

They're among 18 elected by National Football Foundation

The Associated PressMay 1, 2009 

Heisman Trophy winners Tim Brown and Gino Torretta, along with two-time All-American Chris Spielman, are among the 18 players and coaches to be elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

"When you picked up a helmet and a football when you were 8, 9 years old, the last thing you thought about was ending up in the College Football Hall of Fame," said Brown, the 1987 Heisman winner for Notre Dame.

Torretta won the 1992 Heisman for Miami and went 26-2 as the starter during Miami's heyday.

"I went to Miami to have a chance to win a national championship. You don't know if you're going to get a chance to play and start," said Torretta, who along with Brown and former Syracuse coach Dick MacPherson attended a news conference at the Nasdaq stock market in midtown Manhattan.

"Everything worked out, we won a couple of titles, you do good things and you're a good person, you end up in good places."

Others selected for induction by the National Football Foundation are: Penn State's Curt Warner; New Mexico State's Pervis Atkins; Arizona's Chuck Cecil; Auburn's Ed Dyas; West Virginia's Major Harris; BYU's Gordon Hudson; Alabama's Woodrow Lowe; Stanford's Ken Margerum; Texas' Steve McMichael; Iowa's Larry Station; Georgia Tech's Pat Swilling; and Nebraska's Grant Wistrom.

The NFF's veterans committee selected Williams Lewis, who played center for Harvard from 1892-93.

Coaches John Robinson of Southern California and MacPherson also will be inducted in December.


NBA DRAFT WINDOW TO CLOSE SOONER: College basketball players will have to decide more quickly whether they plan to stay in the NBA draft.

A new rule approved Thursday by the NCAA's Board of Directors requires early entrants to withdraw from the draft by May 8. Current rules allow players to make that decision by June 15.

The change will take effect this fall. It's a compromise to an ACC proposal that would have required players to pull out by mid-April.

The NCAA said it favored the May 8 date after receiving advice from NBA officials and the NBA Players Association. The NBA also has agreed to move individual tryouts up to April 30.

How the notification will be done has not been determined.

The NBA calendar, under the current collective bargaining agreement, requires the list of college players who withdraw to be released in mid-June. That will stay in place next year, but Division I vice president David Berst said players who return to school still must notify the NCAA by the new deadline.

Coaches wanted the measure approved so they could make more tangible plans for the following season, and the board approved the rule because it puts more emphasis on keeping returning players academically eligible.


ECU'S BRANDT NAMED TO ALL-STAR TEAM: East Carolina freshman pitcher Kevin Brandt was named to the College Baseball Foundation and Diamond Sports National All-Star Lineup on Thursday.



APPALACHIAN STATE 17, N.C. CENTRAL 0: Appalachian State scored in each of the first five innings and rolled to a win over visiting N.C. Central at Beaver Field.

Appalachian State (28-17) recorded its second shutout in four games and scored in double figures for the third time in its last four outings. N.C. Central dropped to 5-30.

(From College News Releases)

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service