Blue Devils win men's lacrosse championship


— Duke needed an extra five seconds to collect its first NCAA lacrosse championship.

And what a five seconds it was.

Long pole C.J. Costabile cleanly won the opening faceoff and fired it past stingy Notre Dame goalie Scott Rodgers and the fifth-seeded Blue Devils collected a 6-5 victory at M&T Bank Stadium.

Duke (16-4) became the first team to collect its first men’s lacrosse title since Princeton won it in 1992. The Blue Devils are the eighth team to win a national title in the sport’s 40-year history.

Rodgers made 15 saves for the Fighting Irish (10-7).

Duke erased a 5-4 deficit when Justin Turri deposited a Zach Howell feed between Rodgers’ legs with 8:44 left. But neither team could manage anything in the rest of regulation, with Turri’s last-second shot soaring over the cage.

Costabile, who was 6-for-10 on faceoffs, then cleanly beat Trever Sipperly and deposited the winner to quickly put an end to overtime.

Goalie Dan Wigrizer made five saves for Duke.

It was the lowest-scoring title game in NCAA history.

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service