FSU's Snaer named ACC tournament MVP; UNC's Zeller, Marshall, Pack's Leslie all-tournament

acarter@newsobserver.comMarch 11, 2012 


Florida State's Michael Snaer cuts down the net after the Seminoles won their first ACC tournament championship, beating North Carolina 85-82 in the final at Philips Arena in Atlanta. Snaer as named the MVP of the tournament.

CHUCK LIDDY — CHUCK LIDDY - cliddy@newsobserver.com

— Florida State’s Michael Snaer earned ACC tournament MVP honors on Sunday after he led the Seminoles to an 85-82 victory against North Carolina in the tournament’s championship game. With the victory, FSU won its first ACC men’s basketball championship in school history.

Snaer on Sunday led the Seminoles with 18 points, and he made four 3-pointers. He averaged 18 points in Florida State’s three tournament victories.

North Carolina senior forward Tyler Zeller and sophomore point guard Kendall Marshall joined Snaer on the all-tournament first team. Florida State senior point guard Luke Loucks also received first-team honors, as did N.C. State sophomore forward C.J. Leslie.

North Carolina’s Harrison Barnes, Florida State’s Bernard James, N.C. State’s Lorenzo Brown, Duke’s Austin Rivers and Maryland’s Terrell Stoglin all made the all-tournament second team.

CARTER: 829-8944

Carter: 919-829-8944

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service