McCreery gets two shows at 2012 State Fair

bcain@newsobserver.comJuly 3, 2012 

Music CMA Fest

Scotty McCreery performs at the 2012 CMA Music Festival on Sunday, June 10, 2012 in Nashville, Tenn. (Photo by Wade Payne/Invision/AP)

WADE PAYNE — AP

  • 2012 N.C. State Fair Concert Schedule • Thursday, Oct. 11: Varsity Vocal Showcase, $10 • Friday, Oct. 12: Matthew West and Sanctus Real, $10 • Saturday, Oct. 13: Jake Owen, $10 • Sunday, Oct. 14: Hot Chelle Rae, $15 • Monday, Oct. 15: Scotty McCreery, $25 (sold out) • Tuesday, Oct. 16: Scotty McCreery, $25 • Wednesday, Oct. 17: Jason Michael Carroll, $5 • Thursday, Oct. 18: Brian McKnight, $15 • Friday, Oct. 19: Michael W. Smith, $10 • Saturday, Oct. 20: Billy Currington, $20 • Sunday, Oct. 21: Corey Smith, $10

“American Idol” winner Scotty McCreery will play two shows at this year’s N.C. State Fair, and one of those October shows has already sold out.

That concert was first announced in December, and all 5,100 seats were immediately snatched up. The Garner native’s second show at Dorton Arena was announced Monday, along with the full concert line-up.

The 2012 concert schedule offers a mix of country and Christian music acts, with one R&B artist, Brian McKnight, the pop group Hot Chelle Rae, and a night devoted to a cappella groups from Duke, N.C. State and UNC-Chapel Hill.

McCreery won’t be the only North Carolina native on the roster. Jason Michael Carroll, a country singer who grew up in Youngsville, will also perform.

Michael W. Smith is a Christian music artist with more than 20 albums on his resume, and McKnight has 16 Grammy nominations to his credit.

Tickets range in price from $5 to $25 and go on sale 10 a.m. Aug. 1 at ncstatefair.org.

Cain: 919-829-4579

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service