Duke's Gray, Williams named to Naismith watch list

News ServicesNovember 15, 2012 

— Duke women’s basketball standouts Chelsea Gray and Elizabeth Williams are two of 50 players listed on the Naismith women’s early season watch list, which was released by the Atlanta Tipoff Club Thursday.

Gray is coming off a sophomore season where she averaged 12.5 points, 6.1 assists, 4.9 rebounds and 2.8 steals. She ranked 12th nationally in assists and 29th in steals.

Williams was the consensus national freshman of the year last season. The 6-foot-3 center averaged 14 points, 7.8 rebounds, 3.5 blocks, 1.6 assists and 1.5 steals a year ago.

Field Hockey

North Carolina: Five North Carolina players have been honored as part of the Longstreth/National Field Hockey Coaches Association All-South Region teams, announced Thursday.

Seniors Kelsey Kolojejchick and Caitlin Van Sickle, sophomore Charlotte Craddock and freshman Emily Wold were named to the first team and senior Katie Ardrey was named to the second team.

• Sophomore Loren Shealy was honored as the recipient of the Elite 89 Award for Division I. The award, presented at the NCAA Championship banquet in Norfolk, recognizes the student-athlete with the highest overall GPA competing at each NCAA championship site.

Women’s Tennis

Duke: High school senior Alyssa Smith of Laguna Niguel, Calif., signed a national letter of intent, coach Jamie Ashworth announced. Smith, who is currently ranked No. 9 in the Babolat National Recruiting List, as well as No. 1 in the Southwest and California lists, is set to join the Blue Devils in the fall of 2013.


N.C. Central: Outside hitter Christine Anthony has been named the MEAC Rookie of the Year, as voted by the conference head coaches and sports information directors.

The league office also announced that Anthony is among the six on the All-MEAC First Team.

Anthony leads the Eagles and is fourth in the MEAC with 357 kills. She also tops the Eagles with 233 digs and is second on the squad with 31 service aces.

S.C. State’s Desire Waller was named the conference player of the year. Florida A&M’s Tony Trifonov was named coach of the year.

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service