Millbrook boys, Leesville girls lead Cap 8 swimming championships

cgrant@newsobserver.comJanuary 12, 2013 

— Millbrook’s boys’ swim team led nearly the entire way Saturday at the Cap Eight swim championships at the Triangle Aquatic Center.

Now, as several other teams are preparing for Friday’s diving championships, which will be combined with Saturday’s swim totals to decide the conference champions, the Wildcats must take on a spectator’s role.

“We have no divers,” said Millbrook coach Greg Lawless said. “We were trying to see how many points we needed to be ahead, but it’s wait and see now.”

Millbrook finished with 435.5 points, followed by Enloe (384.5), Leesville Road (384) and Sanderson (345).

The Wildcats, in a three-way tie with Sanderson and Enloe after one event, took sole possession of the top spot after the 200 freestyle.

David Craig’s first place finish in the event with a time of one minute, 44.73 seconds, helped propel Millbrook to the leading position, which it would maintain throughout the meet.

Craig also earned a first place finish in the 200 individual medley (1:55.13), and joined teammates Karl Boynton, Steven Craig and Christopher Kohut to win the 400 freestyle relay (3:18.22).

Millbrook kept its lead throughout with consistent finishes near the top of the pack.

“We’ve got a really deep team,” Lawless said. “Even though we didn’t win the 100 breast(stroke), we won second and third, and it’s really the lower level points that add up. I tell my guys if they get one point it helps. They laugh, but it all adds up.”

While Lawless and his Wildcats team hope those points add up to a Cap Eight championship, Leesville Road coach Emily Izquierdo said she expects the Pride boys’ swim team to move up in the standings with the diving championship.

Leesville’s boys’ swim team was led by senior Scott Johnson, who won individual top finishes in the 50 freestyle (21.29 seconds) and 100 freestyle (46.69 seconds).

Johnson also anchored the Pride’s 200 medley relay and 200 freestyle relay, which both won Leesville first place finishes. Will Countie, Sean Yeh and Petch Lamson swam on the 200 medley relay team that in 1:39.23. Zachary Nicol joined Yeh, Countie, and Johnson on the winning 200 freestyle relay (1:30).

Countie and Yeh each also won individual firsts in the 100 backstroke (54.61 seconds) and 100 breaststroke (56.38), respectively.

Enloe’s Clay Harmon won the 500 freestyle (4:40.93) and Broughton’s Will Close won the 100 butterfly (53.76).

Broughton finished fifth in team scores with 261, followed by Heritage (208), Wake Forest-Rolesville (81) and Wakefield (57).

Leesville girls take top spot

Leesville Road’s girls’ team trailed early on, but took the lead midway through the meet and never relinquished it.

While the Pride girls didn’t walk away with first place finishes in any events, the team put forth a consistent enough effort to finish first overall for the day.

“I looked really closely at all of the relay lineups to see what we needed to do to stay steady,” Izquierdo said of her girls’ Pride team. “It doesn’t really matter if you start at the top and watch your lead dwindle. It’s all about being steady at these meets.”

The Pride finished with 411 points, followed by Enloe with 368 and Millbrook with 330.

Leesville Road finished second to Enloe in last year’s Cap Eight championship after winning the conference in 2011.

“I just think they really wanted it this year,” Izquierdo said. “To get it and then to lose it, I think that really motivated them. We have a lot of senior girls who are really excited.”

Millbrook and Broughton each earned three first place event finishes Saturday.

The Wildcats’ Kayla Hunter won the 100 breaststroke (1:08.90), and joined Elizabeth Underkoffler, Allison Kirk and Hannah Stahmer to take the 200 medley relay (1:54.77) for Millbrook.

Stahmer also anchored Millbrook’s 400 freestyle relay team of Rachel Stefanic, Anna-Elizabeth Rinderer and Underkoffler, bringing the Wildcats from behind to win first in 3:48.89.

Broughton’s Kelsey Moore won two individual top finishes: 200 freestyle (1:54.88) and 100 freestyle (53.58 seconds). She also anchored the Caps 200 freestyle relay team of Elisabeth Holmes, Rachel Shaw and Adaira Brewer to win in 1:43.06.

Enloe’s Meagan Jonson took individual first place finishes in the 100 butterfly (59.43 seconds) and 500 freestyle (5:09.93), while Sanderson’s Reid Jackson won the 50 freestyle (25.34) and 100 backstroke (58.90). Heritage’s Ally Davis won the 200 individual medley (2:13.90).

Sanderson’s girls finished fourth in team standings with 275 points, followed by Broughton with 271, Wakefield with 232, Heritage with 216 and Wake Forest-Rolesville with 59.

The conference diving championship will be held Friday at N.C. State.

Grant: 919-829-4538

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service