Duke, UNC, NC State combine for 13 on all-ACC basketball teams

lkeeley@newsobserer.comMarch 11, 2013 

  • All-ACC first team

    Mason Plumlee, Duke

    Erick Green, Virginia Tech

    Shane Larkin, Miami

    Joe Harris, Virginia

    Richard Howell, N.C. State

    All-ACC second team

    Seth Curry, Duke

    Kenny Kadji, Miami

    Lorenzo Brown, N.C. State

    Reggie Bullock, North Carolina

    James Michael McAdoo, North Carolina

    All-ACC third team

    Michael Snaer, Florida State

    C.J. Leslie, N.C. State

    Ryan Anderson, Boston College

    Quinn Cook, Duke

    Devin Booker, Clemson

    Akil Mitchell, Virginia

    All-ACC honorable mention

    Durand Scott, Miami

    P.J. Hairston, UNC

    C.J. Harris, Wake Forest

    Travis McKie, Wake Forest

    Ryan Kelly, Duke

    Olivier Hanlan, Boston College

    Alex Len Maryland

    All-ACC freshman team

    Olivier Hanlan, Boston College

    Rasheed Sulaimon, Duke

    T.J. Warren, N.C. State

    Devin Thomas, Wake Forest

    Marcus Paige, North Carolina

    All-ACC defensive team

    Shane Larkin, Miami

    Daniel Miller, Georgia Tech

    Durand Scott, Miami

    Alex Len, Maryland

    Jontel Evans, Virginia

The Triangle schools were well-represented on the media’s All-ACC teams released Monday. Duke, North Carolina and N.C. State combined for 13 representatives on the first, second, third, honorable mention and rookie teams as selected by the 77 voters of Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Duke’s Mason Plumlee led all players with 226 points and 73 out of a possible 77 first-place votes. Plumlee finished the regular season second in the league in scoring (17.3 points per game), rebounding (10.3 boards per game) and field goal percentage (58.9 percent). He led the ACC with 17 double-doubles. Duke has had a first-team All-ACC selection in six straight seasons.

N.C. State’s Richard Howell was also a first-team selection with 192 points and 46 first-place votes. Howell and Plumlee were the only two players to average a double-double in league play, and the N.C. State senior led the league in rebounding with an average of 10.6 per game.

“He’s one of the most unique players in the country, Howell,” Duke coach Mike Krzyzewski said after the Wolfpack’s Jan. 12 win over Duke. “He’s a kid that every team would want and start and would be so easy to play with. He doesn’t need the ball long, he plays with amazing maturity, and he rebounds the heck out of the ball.”

Joining Plumlee and Howell on the first team were Virginia Tech’s Erick Green, the nation’s leading scorer (225 points, 72 first-place votes), Miami’s Shane Larkin (224 points, 72 first-place votes) and Virginia’s Joe Harris (219 points, 67 first-place votes).

Duke’s Seth Curry received the most votes of those players on the second team, with 178 points. He was joined by N.C. State’s Lorenzo Brown (122 points), and North Carolina’s Reggie Bullock (119 points) and James Michael McAdoo (97 points).

N.C. State’s C.J. Leslie (80 points) and Duke’s Quinn Cook (43 points) were selected to the third team. Duke’s Ryan Kelly, whose right foot injury limited him to five ACC games, was an honorable mention selection along with North Carolina’s P.J. Hairston.

All three Triangle teams had a rookie selected to the All-Freshman team, with Duke’s Rasheed Sulaimon (63 votes), N.C. State’s T.J. Warren (63 votes), and UNC’s Marcus Paige (44 votes) named.

Wake Forest’s C.J. Harris and Travis McKie were honorable mention selections, and Devin Thomas made the All-Rookie team.

ACC Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year will be announced Tuesday.

Keeley 919-829-4556; Twitter @laurakeeley

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service