NASCAR Hall of Fame

Bruton Smith, Jarrett on ballot

jutter@charlotteobserver.comApril 11, 2013 

  • The 25 Nominees

    Red Byron: First champion in what now is Sprint Cup series, in 1949.

    Richard Childress: 11-time champion car owner.

    Jerry Cook: Six-time NASCAR Modified champion.

    H. Clay Earles: Founder of Martinsville (Va.) Speedway.

    Tim Flock: Two-time champ in what is Cup series.

    Ray Fox: Legendary engine builder, owner of cars driven by Buck Baker, Junior Johnson, others.

    Anne Bledsoe France: Helped build the sport with husband Bill France Sr.

    Rick Hendrick: 13-time car owner champion.

    Jack Ingram: Two-time champ in what is Nationwide series, 3-time Late Model Sportsman champ.

    Bobby Isaac: 1970 (Cup) champion.

    Dale Jarrett: 1999 NASCAR Cup champion and three-time Daytona 500 winner.

    Fred Lorenzen: 26 wins, including Daytona 500 and World 600.

    Raymond Parks: First champion car owner.

    Benny Parsons: 1973 NASCAR Cup champion.

    Maurice Petty: Chief engine builder for Petty Enterprises.

    Larry Phillips: Only five-time NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champion.

    Les Richter: Former NASCAR executive; former president of Riverside (Calif.) International Raceway.

    Fireball Roberts: 33 wins in what is Cup series, including the 1962 Daytona 500.

    T. Wayne Robertson: Raised NASCAR popularity as R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co. senior VP.

    Wendell Scott: First African American NASCAR premier (Cup) series race winner.

    Ralph Seagraves: Formed Winston-NASCAR partnership as executive with R.J. Reynolds.

    O. Bruton Smith: Builder of Charlotte Motor Speedway and architect of Speedway Motorsports Inc.

    Curtis Turner: The “Babe Ruth of stock car racing.”

    Joe Weatherly: Two-time premier (Cup) champion.

    Rex White: 1960 premier (Cup) champion.

  • More information

    Whose Turn? NASCAR released its list of 25 nominees for the Hall of Fame Class of 2014. The nine who appeared on the ballots for the first four classes:

    Red Byron: First series champion

    Richard Childress: 12-time champion owner

    Tim Flock: Two-time champ in top series

    Rick Hendrick: 14-time champion owner

    Raymond Parks: First championship owner

    Benny Parsons: 1973 champ turned broadcaster

    Fireball Roberts: 33 wins in top series

    Curtis Turner: “Babe Ruth” of racing

    Joe Weatherly: Two-time champ in top series

— Former Winston Cup champion Dale Jarrett and Speedway Motorsports Inc. chairman Bruton Smith are among the five new nominees for induction to the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

The list of 25 nominees for the Class of 2014 was revealed Wednesday night and includes the 20 nominees not selected for this year’s class. In addition to Jarrett and Smith, the other nominees eligible for the Hall are Maurice Petty, chief engine builder for Petty Enterprises; five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion Larry Phillips; and the 1960 champion of what is now the Sprint Cup Series, Rex White.

From the group of 25, five inductees will be elected by the NASCAR Hall of Fame voting panel, which includes a nationwide fan vote on Voting day for the 2014 class is set for May 22 at the Hall in uptown Charlotte.

Jarrett, who was born in Conover, is the son of Hall of Fame member Ned Jarrett and was nominated in his first year of eligibility. Jarrett, 56, won the 1999 Winston Cup series championship and is a three-time winner of NASCAR’s biggest race, the Daytona 500.

Smith, born in Oakboro, first promoted a stock car event at age 18 in Midland. He is chairman of SMI, which owns eight race tracks, including Charlotte Motor Speedway.

This round of nominees was selected by a 21-member nominating committee of representatives from NASCAR, the NASCAR Hall of Fame and track owners. The votes were tabulated by accounting firm Ernst & Young.

The five-member Class of 2014 will be selected by a 54-member voting panel.

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service