College Notebook

3 UNC women, 2 Duke men win tennis matches

News ServicesMay 23, 2013 

— North Carolina’s Gina Suarez-Malaguti, Zoe De Bruycker and Caroline Price advanced to the second round of the NCAA women’s singles championship with wins Wednesday.

Suarez-Malaguti and De Brucker each won in straight sets. Price won a tough, three-set match 7-5, 1-6, 6-2.

Suarez-Malaguti will face Clemson’s Beatrice Gumulya Thursday in the second round.

DeBruycker will face another Clemson player, Yana Koroleva. The two met in the fall at the Furman Fall Classic with De Bruycker winning in three sets.

Their teammate Whitney Kay, Duke’s Hanna Mar and N.C. State’s Joelle Kissell each suffereed season-ending losses.

Kay fell in in two 7-5, 6-2.Mar lost 2-6, 6-3, 6-2. Kissell held a 6-5 lead in the first set, but ending up losing 7-6 (3), 7-5.

Men’s singles: Duke Senior Henrique Cunha and freshman Michael Redlicki advanced to the second round at the NCAA championships.

Cunha advanced to the second round for the fourth consecutive season with a 7-6 (2), 6-2 win.

Redlicki advanced to the second-round after upsetting Kentucky’s 23rd-ranked Tom Jomby, 7-6 (4), 6-7 (6), 6-1.

Duke’s Fred Saba and UNC’s Esben Hess-Olesen each lost to end their seasons.

Saba feel in straight sets 6-3, 6-2. Hess-Olesen 7-6 (7), 6-3.


Shaw: The CIAA named Lolia Kienka its Woman of the Year in a ceremony held in Newport News, Va. The award recognizes a woman who has distinguished herself academically, athletically and in the community throughout her collegiate career.

Kienka served as a student assistant for the tennis program this season and was a member of the tennis team from 2009-2012. She was the CIAA player of the year in both 2010 and 2012.

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service