Hunter teams sweep county Science Olympiad

From staff reportsJuly 21, 2013 

Students from Hunter Elementary School in Raleigh celebrate with their trophy from the Wake County Science Olympiad competition.


The varsity and junior varsity teams from Hunter Elementary School in Raleigh won first place in their divisions in this year’s Wake County Science Olympiad competition.

On the varsity team were Eesha Barua, Laila Dancy, Emilie Fairman, Ben Hazel, Vaishnavi Katragadda, Hannah Kaufman, Subhag Kotrannavar, Julien Marcellin-Little, Rebekah Olsen, Rohan Pasi, Remi Philips, Ainsley Smith, Kathleen Trang and Wesley Wood.

The junior varsity team members were Ryan Bullock, Tejas Chandrasekhar, Brenna Curtis, Myles Gregor, Natalie Grimes, Alexis Holly, Alisha Kamath, Kyra Koons, Karen Li, Sarah Melakayil, Harper Jewell Morgan, Truman Qu, Emily Shih, Max Von Weihe and Hannah Wall.

The competition took place at Smith Elementary School last spring. Teachers, local professionals and college students designed events to test students’ knowledge of and ability to use science in a variety of fields.

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service