Porter Good: State standards

August 17, 2013 

State standards

It’d be nice if the N&O would actually provide details of the voter ID law instead of continuing the condemnation and hysteria.

Fourteen states allow straight-party voting. North Carolina now joins the 36 other states that do not. Fifteen states do not allow early voting or no-excuse absentee voting, including New York and Massachusetts. Thirty-two states allow early voting ranging from four days prior to Election Day to 45 days, with an average 19 days. North Carolina allows 10 days but requires the same number of hours of early voting that was available in 2012 and 2010 when the early voting period was 17 days.

Only one state allows same-day registration during early voting. North Carolina was the only other state to allow this and has now joined 48 states in not allowing same-day registration during early voting. Eleven states allow same-day registration on Election Day. North Carolina does not. Five states allow 16- and 17-year-olds to pre-register to vote; 45 states do not, including now North Carolina.

How about some balance?

Porter Good


News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service