And the nominees for the bluegrass music awards are ...

September 21, 2013 

  • Nominee to watch

    Balsam Range, founded in Western North Carolina in 2007, received a total of seven nominations as a band or for individual members. The nominations include Entertainer of the Year, Vocal Group of the Year and Album of the Year. The five-member band has two nominations for Song of the Year – “Any Old Road (Will Take You There)” and “Papertown.” “Papertown,” also the name of the album, is about Canton, the North Carolina mountain town known for its paper mill. Balsam Range won Song of the Year in 2011 for “Trains I Missed.”

  • Nominee to watch

    Raleigh’s Joe Newberry, director of communications for the N.C. Symphony, is up for Song of the Year for “They Called It Music,” which he wrote with Eric Gibson for The Gibson Brothers. Newberry, born in Missouri but who jokes that he got to North Carolina “just as quick as I could,” is a previous IBMA winner. His composition “Singing As We Rise,” recorded by The Gibson Brothers and Ricky Skaggs, won Best Gospel Song last year.

  • Nominees to watch

    Terry Baucom of Elkin is up for Recorded Event of the Year for “What’ll I Do,” which he performs with the lineup of Sam Bush, Jerry Douglas, Wyatt Rice, Steve Bryant and Buddy Melton. Baucom, a banjo player, is a previous IBMA winner.

    And iconic fiddle player Bobby Hicks, who just turned 80, is up for Fiddler of the Year. He lives in Marshall.

  • Want to go?

    • The International Bluegrass Music Awards show is at 7:30 p.m. Thursday in Memorial Auditorium at the Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts in downtown Raleigh. Tickets range from $55 to $105. Available at

It’s the biggest night of the year in the bluegrass world, when the International Bluegrass Music Association honors the best of the best. Here are the nominees for the awards to be presented Thursday night.

Entertainer of the Year

• Balsam Range

• Blue Highway

• Dailey & Vincent

• The Gibson Brothers

• The Del McCoury Band

Vocal Group of the Year

• Balsam Range

• Blue Highway

• Dailey & Vincent

• The Gibson Brothers

• Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

Instrumental Group of the Year

• Blue Highway

• The Boxcars

• Sam Bush Band

• Punch Brothers

• Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen

Song of the Year

• “Any Old Road (Will Take You There),” Balsam Range, written by Carl Jackson, Marc Pruett and Jerry Salley

• “Gentle on my Mind,” Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out, written by John Hartford

• “Papertown,” Balsam Range, written by Milan Miller

• “The Story of the Day that I Died,” Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice, written by Ashby Frank

• “They Called It Music,” The Gibson Brothers, written by Eric Gibson and Joe Newberry

Album of the Year

• “Dear Sister,” Claire Lynch, Compass Records

• “Hammer Down,” The SteelDrivers, Rounder Records

• “The Old School,” Peter Rowan, Compass Records

• “Papertown,” Balsam Range, Mountain Home

• “They Called It Music,” The Gibson Brothers, Compass Records

Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year

• “Beulah Land,” Marty Raybon

• “Home on the River,” The Gibson Brothers

• “Row by Row,” Balsam Range

• “Say Hello to Heaven,” Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

• “When He Beckons Me Home,” Darin & Brooke Aldridge

Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year

• “By the Waters of the Clinch,” Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

• “Foggy Mountain Rock,” Tom Adams, Dan Tyminski, Ron Stewart, Dennis Crouch, Clay Hess, Randy Kohrs

• “New Jerusalem,” Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder

• “Newton’s Grove,” Audie Blaylock & Redline

• “NoraBelle,” Darrell Webb Band

•  “Pilgrim’s Knob,” Alan Bibey & Wayne Benson

Recorded Event of the Year

• “Another Night,” Alan Bibey, Wayne Benson and Russell Moore

• “Golden Ring,” Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out with Sonya Isaacs

• “On the Edge of Letting Go,” Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen with Tim O’Brien and Rob Ickes

• “This Old Guitar and Me,” Grasstowne with Ronnie Bowman

• “What’ll I Do;” Terry Baucom with Sam Bush, Jerry Douglas, Wyatt Rice, Steve Bryant & Buddy Melton

Emerging Artist of the Year

• Della Mae

• Flatt Lonesome

• Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen

• The Spinney Brothers

• The Darrell Webb Band

Male Vocalist of the Year

• Jamie Dailey

• Russell Moore

• Tim O’Brien

• Marty Raybon

• Junior Sisk

Female Vocalist of the Year

• Dale Ann Bradley

• Sonya Isaacs

• Claire Lynch

• Amanda Smith

• Rhonda Vincent

Banjo Performer of the Year

• J.D. Crowe

• Mike Munford

• Sammy Shelor

• Ron Stewart

• Scott Vestal

Bass Performer of the Year

• Barry Bales

• Mike Bub

• Missy Raines

• Mark Schatz

• Marshall Wilborn

Fiddle Performer of the Year

• Jason Carter

• Michael Cleveland

• Stuart Duncan

• Bobby Hicks

• Ron Stewart

Dobro Performer of the Year

• Mike Auldridge

• Jerry Douglas

• Rob Ickes

• Randy Kohrs

• Phil Leadbetter

Guitar Performer of the Year

• Jim Hurst

• Tony Rice

• Kenny Smith

• Bryan Sutton

• Josh Williams

Mandolin Performer of the Year

• Wayne Benson

• Jesse Brock

• Sam Bush

• Sierra Hull

• Adam Steffey

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service