Semifinalists for National Achievement Scholarship announced

October 13, 2013 

The National Merit Scholarship Association has announced its semifinalists in the 2014 National Achievement Scholarship Program.

The program, now in its 50th year, recognizes black students who excel academically. The 1,600 semifinalists will go on to compete for around 800 scholarships worth a total of $2.5 million. Winners are chosen based on their abilities, accomplishments and potential for success in college studies.

Here are the semifinalists from our area


Carrboro High School: Amon K. Williams


Cary Academy: Rebekah C. Banks, Marjorie N. Segule, Alexis N. Williams

Panther Creek High School: Amarachukwu C. Orji


East Chapel Hill High School: Mathew Abraham, Jennah C. Jones


Hillside High School: Sydney N. Brown

Hillside New Tech High School: Jeliyah S. Clark

Homeschool: Jeffrey Wubbenhorst

Jordan High School: Alana N. Harris, David A. Yeyeodu

N.C. School of Science and Mathematics: Andrew C. Adams, Jovan J. Baslious, Evan C. Brooks, Angel N. Chukwu, Elizabeth M. Hayes, Alexis V. Knox, Sidney L. Lisanza, Megan F. Wicks


Garner High School: Alanah C. Crowder, Breia M. White


Enloe High School: Taylor Morgan, Amber J. Smith

Cardinal Gibbons High School: Mmerobasi U. Kanu

Homeschool: Dominique S. Brown

Leesville Road High School: Nicola L. Paul

Raleigh Charter High School: Sadie E. Bennett

Wake Early College of Health and Sciences: Shana N. Hayes

Wakefield High School: Jonathan R. Smith

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service