Benson elects one newcomer

From staff reportsNovember 5, 2013 

  • Results The top three finishers for Town Council win the three open seats. Mayor

    William W. Massengill Jr. (i) →  93.92%

    Town Council At-Large

    Will T. Chandler (i) →  27.73%

    Jerry Medlin →  25.63%

    Frederick D. Nelson Jr. (i) →  36.35%

    Terry Tucker →  10.29%

    (1 of 1 precinct reporting)

Incumbents Will T. Chandler and Frederick D. Nelson Jr. won re-election to the Benson Town Council. So did political newcomer Jerry Medlin, who won after a third incumbent chose not to seek re-election. Incumbent Mayor William W. Massengill Jr. was unopposed in his bid for re-election.

Staff writer Paula Seligson

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service