Byrd, Jernigan take Wilson's Mills council seats; incumbents re-elected

From staff reportsNovember 6, 2013 

  • Results Three open council seats Mayor

    Phillip R. Wright (i)→  97.26%

    Town Council

    Fleta A. Byrd →  33.33%

    Randy N. Jernigan →  26.87%

    Kenneth R. Jones (i) →  38.81%

    (1 of 1 precinct reporting)

— Incumbent Philip Wright ran unopposed and will continue as the town’s mayor. Incumbent Town Council member Kenneth Jones won re-election. Newcomers Fleta Byrd and Randy Jernigan will fill the other two open seats.

Staff writer Amanda James

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service