Southwest Wake Athletic all-conference boys’ soccer team, 2013

Posted by J. Mike Blake on November 13, 2013 

  • All-SWAC boys’ soccer First Team

    Robert Smith, senior, Apex

    Andrew Lawrence, senior Fuquay-Varina

    Zack Compton, senior, Green Hope

    Sean Bowman, senior, Apex

    Sam Rauf, senior, Green Hope

    John McNulty, senior, Holly Springs

    Dean Rutherford, senior, Fuquay-Varina

    Sam Conrad, junior, Panther Creek

    Keenan McDiarmid, senior, Holly Springs

    Johannes Dietrich, junior, Cary

    MacLean Holbrook, junior, Green Hope

    Peter Matthews, senior, Panther Creek

    Second Team

    Brian Lewis, senior, Apex

    Sam Bissett, senior, Green Hope

    Mac Garrett, senior, Athens Drive

    Dylan Jenkins, senior, Middle Creek

    Johnny Stehlik, junior, Fuquay-Varina

    Chris Gottberg, junior, Middle Creek

    Dan McGinty, senior, Apex

    Josh Kaplan, senior, Holly Springs

    Holden Bryant, senior, Fuquay-Varina

    Giles Sumerville, senior, Cary

    Brendan O’Dowd, junior, Panther Creek

    Gabe Price, senior, Athens Drive

    Noah Dickerson, senior, Middle Creek

Apex senior midfielder Robert Smith and head coach Kevin Todd were voted Southwest Wake Athletic Conference player and coach of the year by SWAC head coaches.

Also making the first team were Green Hope’s Zack Compton, who ended the year with a SWAC-best 25 goals, and Fuquay-Varina’s Dean Rutherford had 22 goals and 11 assists, who was tops in points. Holly Springs’ Keenan McDiarmid (15 goals), Panther Creek’s Sam Conrad and Green Hope’s MacLean Holbrook also made the first team, as did Andrew Lawrence (14 goals), who led the league in assists with 16.

Cary junior Johannes Dietrich was the first-team goalkeeper.

Defenders Sean Bowman of Apex, Sam Rauf of Green Hope, John McNulty of Holly Springs and Peter Matthews of Panther Creek were also on the first team.

Apex’s Brian Lewis, Green Hope’s Sam Bissett and Athens Drive’s Gabe Price were second-team goalkeepers and the defenders were

Also on the second team were midfielders Holden Bryant (four goals, 10 assists) of Fuquay-Varina, Dan McGinty of Apex and Middle Creek’s Noah Dickerson (six goals, six assists) and Chris Gottberg (seven goals, two assists).

The second-team forwards included Fuquay-Varina’s Johnny Stehlik (20 goals), Mac Garrett (nine goals, one assist) of Athens Drive, Panther Creek’s Bendan O’Dowd and Dylan Jenkins of Middle Creek (seven goals, four assists).

Second-team defenders were Holly Springs’ Josh Kaplan and Cary’s Giles Summerville.

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service