Wake County school board committee assignments released

Posted by T. Keung Hui on December 18, 2013 

New Wake County school board Chairwoman Christine Kushner has finalized the list of school board committee assignments.

Former school board Chairman Keith Sutton, who was unseated Dec. 3 by Kushner, will chair the new government relations committee created by the school board on Tuesday. The committee is charged with improving communications and relations with the Wake County Board of Commissioners, the various Wake County municipal governments, the General Assembly and other elected bodies such as the State Board of Education and other school boards in the state.

Kevin Hill will remain chairman of the facilities committee.

Susan Evans is staying on as chairwoman of the finance committee.

Jim Martin continues as chairman of the policy committee.

Bill Fletcher becomes the new chairman of the student achievement committee. He replaces Kushner.

As the board’s elected leaders, Kushner and new vice chairman Tom Benton don’t chair any of the committees. The five committees are chaired by the other returning board members.

The two new board members are each serving as a committee vice chairwoman. Zora Felton is vice chairwoman of the government relations committee and Monika Johnson-Hostler is vice chairwoman of the student achievement committee.

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service