Nesbitt leads Canadian speedskaters

The Sports NetworkJanuary 22, 2014 

Calgary, AB ( - Two-time Olympic medal winner Christine Nesbitt will lead the Canadian speedskating team at the 2014 Games.

Nesbitt was one of 17 athletes selected for the men's and women's speedskating teams. She won Olympic gold four years ago in the 1,000 meters after capturing silver in the team pursuit at the Torino Games.

"I feel privileged being named to my third Olympic Team, each of which has been completely different for me," said Nesbitt.

Joining Nesbitt on the women's squad will be Ivanie Blondin, Anastasia Bucsis, Kali Christ, Marsha Hudey, Kaylin Irvine, Brittany Schussler, Brianne Tutt and Danielle Wotherspoon-Gregg.

The eight Canadian men headed to Russia are Vincent De Haitre, William Dutton, Mathieu Giroux, Jamie Gregg, Gilmore Junio, Lucas Makowsky, Denny Morrison and Muncef Ouardi.

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service