Weekend wake up: Mike Krzyzewski, All-American recruiter

Posted by Laura Keeley on January 31, 2014 

Jahlil Okafor, Justise Winslow and Tyus Jones, seen here on their October official visit, are three of Duke's four McDonald's All-American signess (not pictured: Grayson Allen).


(a quick plug for a podcast I did with the Syrcause.com’s Brent Axe leading up to this weekend’s Duke-Syracuse game ).

When the rosters were announced Wednesday for the 2014 McDonald’s All-American game, all four Duke signees were among the selections. The quartet of Jahlil Okafor, Tyus Jones, Justise Winslow and Grayson Allen tie the Duke program record more most selections in one year—it’s happened two other times, in 1999 ( Carlos Boozer, Mike Dunleavy, Casey Sanders and Jay Williams) and 2002 ( Sean Dockery, Shavlik Randolph, J.J. Redick and Michael Thompson).

While that feat alone is notable, it pales in comparison to the fact that this is the 30th straight year that Mike Krzyzewski has recruited at least one all-American. The next longest streak? North Carolina, with seven straight years.

During Krzyzewski’s 34-year tenure, he’s recruited an all-American in 32 years, with only his first class (1981) and his fourth (1984) as the exceptions Here’s a closer look at the players that have come to Duke during the 30-year streak:

1985: Danny Ferry, Quin Snyder

1986: Alaa Abdelnaby, Phil Henderson

1987: Greg Koubek

1988: Christian Laettner, Crawford Palmer

1989: Bobby Hurley, Bill McCaffrey

1990: Grant Hill

1991: Cherokee Parks

1992: Chris Collins

1993: Joey Beard

1994: Trajan Langdon, Ricky Price, Steve Wojciechowski

1995: Taymon Domzalski

1996: Nate James

1997: Shane Battier, Elton Brand, Chris Burgess

1998: Corey Maggette

1999: Carlos Boozer, Mike Dunleavy, Casey Sanders, Jason Williams

2000: Chris Duhon

2001: Daniel Ewing

2002: Sean Dockery, Shavlik Randolph, J.J. Redick, Michael Thompson

2003: Luol Deng

2004: DeMarcus Nelson

2005: Eric Boateng, Josh McRoberts, Greg Paulus

2006: Gerald Henderson, Jon Scheyer, Lance Thomas

2007: Taylor King, Kyle Singler, Nolan Smith

2008: Elliot Williams

2009: Ryan Kelly, Mason Plumlee

2010: Kyrie Irving

2011: Quinn Cook, Marshall Plumlee, Austin Rivers

2012: Amile Jefferson, Rasheed Sulaimon

2013: Matt Jones, Jabari Parker

2014: Jahlil Okafor, Tyus Jones, Justise Winslow, Grayson Allen

For the sake of being thorough, Johnny Dawkins (1982) and Tommy Amaker and Martin Nessley (1983) round out Krzyzewski’s collection of 61 high school all-Americans (that is the most recruited by one coach). The McDonald’s All-American game, which started in 1977, did feature two Duke recruits that predated Krzyzewski: Gene Banks (1977) and Vince Taylor (1978). Banks was recently named Duke’s representative for the ACC Legends class of 2014.

For all the latest Duke news, like Duke NOW on Facebook and follow me on Twitter.

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service