Dunbar returns, hits home run for UNC baseball

From News ReleasesFebruary 28, 2014 

— The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2014 Tewaaraton Award men’s watch list presented by Panama Jack, with 17 ACC athletes recognized. The list includes the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlights the early contenders for the 2014 Tewaaraton Award.

The ACC’s 17 representatives are more than twice as many as any other conference’s. Syracuse and Virginia tied for the national lead with four players each.

ACC athletes have won five times in the 13-year history of the award. Past winners include Virginia’s Chris Rotelli in 2003, Virginia’s Matt Ward in 2006, Duke’s Matt Danowski in 2007, Duke’s Ned Crotty in 2010, and Virginia’s Steele Stanwick in 2011. Syracuse, in its first year in the ACC, has had an additional three players win the award.

Players not named to the initial list have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Additions will be announced on March 20 and April 10.

ACC athletes on the men’s watch list include Duke’s Brendan Fowler and Jordan Wolf and North Carolina’s Joey Sankey and Chad Tutton.


ACC: The NCAA has announced the qualifier allocations for the 2014 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships, with the ACC receiving a league-record 34 automatic spots, including multiple qualifiers in all 10 weight classes.

The ACC received five qualifiers in the 141- and the 197-pound weight class, and four qualifiers in the 149-, 184- and 285-pound pound weight classes. Three spots were awarded to the conference at 125 and 174. The 133-, 157- and 165-pound weight classes each received two slots.

The 2014 ACC Wrestling Championship will be held March 8 in Blacksburg, Va. All seven ACC schools are able to send one participant per weight class.

Each qualifying tournament was awarded spots per weight class based on current year data. Each wrestler was measured on the following: Division I winning percentage at the weight class; rating percentage index (RPI); and coaches ranking.

The 2014 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships return to Oklahoma City March 20-22 at the Chesapeake Energy Arena.

Men’s tennis

N.C. Central: The Eagles earned their second victory of the season, defeating the Winston-Salem State Rams in a 6-1 decision in N.C. Central’s home opener.

Women’s tennis

North Carolina: The No. 11 Tar Heels had little trouble posting a 5-2 victory against Wake Forest at the Cone-Kenfield Tennis Center.

North Carolina (11-2, 3-0 ACC) won the doubles point in a little more than 30 minutes as the fifth-ranked duo of Caroline Price and Whitney Kay won 8-1 on court two. Minutes later, ninth-ranked Jamie Loeb and Hayley Carter secured the doubles point with an 8-4 win on court one.

Loeb, the top-ranked singles player in the country, won the first set 6-0 before her opponent retired trailing 3-0 in the second set.

Carter, eighth in the latest singles rankings, surrendered only one point in a 6-1, 6-0, win on court two.

Carolina visits No. 1 Duke on Sunday at noon.

N.C. State: The Wolfpack team fell short in its upset bid, dropping a 7-0 decision to the No. 15 Clemson Tigers at the Hoke Sloan Tennis Center.

Track and Field

ACC: A pair of men’s meet records fell as the 2014 ACC Indoor Track and Field Championships continued at Clemson University.

Florida State’s James Harris set a new championship mark in the high jump at 7-4½ (2.24m), while Duke’s Curtis Beach prevailed in the heptathlon with an all-time high score of 5,987.

Duke leads the men’s competition with 44 points, while Florida State and North Carolina share second place with 40 points apiece. Notre Dame holds fourth place with 32 points, followed by N.C. State with 26.

The Florida State women used a late push to move into first place with 41 team points, followed by Duke with 37 and Maryland with 33. Miami (20) and N.C. State (18) rounded out the top five.

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service