NC State's T.J. Warren, Duke's Jabari Parker lead all-ACC voting

lkeeley@newsobserver.comMarch 10, 2014 

  • More information

    ACSMA All-ACC Teams

    (First place votes in parenthesis, followed by total points)

    First Team

    *Jabari Parker, Fr., Duke (77) 231

    *T.J. Warren, So., NC State (77), 231

    Marcus Paige, So., North Carolina (69) 223

    C.J. Fair, Sr., Syracuse (47) 200

    K.J. McDaniels, Jr. Clemson (46) 199

    Second Team

    Malcolm Brogdon, So., Virginia (35) 170

    Lamar Patterson, Sr. Pitt (10) 158

    Tyler Ennis, Fr., Syracuse (13) 156

    Rodney Hood, Jr., Duke (4) 148

    James Michael McAdoo, Jr., North Carolina (2) 103

    Third Team

    Olivier Hanlan, So., Boston College (3) 101

    Joe Harris, Sr., Virginia (1) 79

    Rion Brown, Sr., Miami 52

    Dez Wells, Jr., Maryland 45

    Daniel Miller, Sr., Georgia Tech 34

    Honorable Mention

    (10 points or more)

    Eric Atkins, Sr., Notre Dame 30

    Talib Zanna, Sr., Pitt 28

    Aaron Thomas, So., Florida State 27

    Akil Mitchell, Sr., Virginia 17

    Jerami Grant,So. Syracuse 15

    Ryan Anderson, Jr., Boston College 10

    All-ACC Freshman Team

    (Total votes in parenthesis)

    *Jabari Parker, Duke (77)

    *Tyler Ennis, Syracuse (77)

    London Perrantes, Virginia (66)

    Kennedy Meeks, North Carolina (60)

    Devin Wilson, Virginia Tech (55)

    All-ACC Defensive Team

    KJ. McDaniels, Jr., Clemson (66)

    Daniel Miller, Sr., Georgia Tech (60)

    Akil Mitchell, Sr., Virginia (51)

    Tyler Ennis, Fr., Syracuse (38)

    J.P. Tokoto, So., North Carolina (18)

    Most Improved Player

    Marcus Paige, So., North Carolina

    Sixth Man of the Year

    Justin Anderson, So., Virginia

    2014 Coaches All-ACC

    First Team (Vote Totals)

    *Jabari Parker, Duke (42)

    T.J. Warren, NC State (41)

    Marcus Paige, North Carolina (40)

    C.J. Fair, Syracuse (39)

    Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia (35)

    Second Team

    Tyler Ennis, Syracuse (33)

    Lamar Patterson, Pitt (31)

    Rodney Hood, Duke (31)

    K.J. McDaniels, Clemson (28)

    Joe Harris, Virginia (24)

    Third Team

    James Michael McAdoo, North Carolina (21)

    Olivier Hanlan, Boston College (15)

    Dez Wells, Maryland (13)

    Eric Atkins, Notre Dame (8)

    Rion Brown, Miami (8)

    Honorable Mention

    (Four or more votes)

    Akil Mitchell, Virginia (7)

    Jerami Grant, Syracuse (4)

    Pat Connaughton, Notre Dame (4)

    Ian Miller, Florida State (4)

    Talib Zanna, Pitt (4)

    All-ACC Defensive Team

    K.J. McDaniels, Clemson (13)

    Daniel Miller, Georgia Tech (11)

    Akil Mitchell, Virginia (9)

    Okaro White, Florida State (6)

    J.P. Tokoto, North Carolina (6)

    All-ACC Freshmen Team (Vote Totals)

    *Jabari Parker, Duke (14)

    *Tyler Ennis, Syracuse (14)

    London Perrantes, Virginia (13)

    Kennedy Meeks, North Carolina (13)

    Devin Wilson, Virginia Tech (10)

    2014 Coaches Sixth Man Award

    Ian Miller, Florida State

    2014 Coaches Most Improved Player

    Marcus Paige, North Carolina

    * unanimous selection

N.C. State’s T.J. Warren and Duke’s Jabari Parker led the way in all-ACC voting by both the media and the coaches, setting up an interesting reveal when Player of the Year is announced Tuesday at 1 p.m.

Parker, a freshman, was the only player to be a unanimous first-team selection by both the 77 voting members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA) and the 14 coaches eligible to vote for him (coaches can’t vote for their own players).

Parker, who leads Duke with 19.2 points, 9.0 rebounds and 1.4 blocks per game while shooting 48.7 percent from the field, was also a unanimous pick for the all-freshman team, too. He is just the eighth freshman (and second from Duke) to earn first-team all-ACC honors.

Warren, a sophomore, was a unanimous selection by the media and was a first-teamer on 13 of the 14 coaches’ ballots. He leads the conference in scoring (24.8 points per game) and field goal percentage (53.2 percent).

North Carolina point guard Marcus Paige joined Parker and Warren on both first teams and was named the ACC’s most improved player as well after increasing his average scoring from last year by 8.7 points per game, his field goal percentage from .356 to .432 and his 3-point percentage from .344 to .391.

UNC’s James Michael McAdoo was a third-team selection, J.P. Tokoto was named to the all-defensive team and Kennedy Meeks was a member of the all-freshmen team as well.

Duke redshirt sophomore Rodney Hood was a second-team selection, becoming the first Duke transfer to earn all-league recognition in his first season.


News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service