Wolfpack's TJ Warren is ACC Player of the Year

jgiglio@newsobserver.comMarch 11, 2014 

Before the season, T.J. Warren said he could handle the transition from the supporting cast to N.C. State’s No. 1 option.

Turns out he knew what he was talking about. Warren, a sophomore, won both the coaches and media’s vote for the ACC Player of the Year on Tuesday. A 6-foot-8 forward from Durham, he is the first Wolfpack player to win the media award since Julius Hodge in 2004 and the sixth overall.

Warren led the ACC in scoring (24.8 points per game) and field-goal percentage (.532). He closed the season with consecutive 40-point games, 41 in a win at Pittsburgh and 42 in a home win against Boston College. No one had scored at least 40 in back-to-back ACC games since the 1956-57 season.

N.C. State coach Mark Gottfried broke the news to Warren after practice Tuesday, and the players gathered at midcourt and all cheered for Warren, who said he couldn’t have won the award without his teammates.

“It’s basically a team award,” Warren said. “These guys put in a lot of work and made me better.”

Warren was a unanimous choice for the All-ACC team on Monday, along with Duke freshman forward Jabari Parker. Warren received 48 first-place votes to beat out Parker (25 votes), who averaged 19.2 points and an ACC-best 9.0 rebounds, in the player-of-the-year media vote. North Carolina’s Marcus Paige received two votes.

Warren won the coaches’ vote, which has only been given the past two years. Miami’s Shane Larkin and Virginia Tech’s Erick Green split the honors last season, but Warren swept both Tuesday.

“It’s an award that’s well-deserved,” Gottfried said. “I think he earned it.”

Warren was more consistent than Parker, one of the top freshmen in the country, during ACC play. Warren had only two ACC games with fewer than 20 points and six with more than 30. By comparison, Parker had 12 games with fewer than 20 points and only one 30-point ACC game.

For the season, Warren scored 30 or more nine times and the Wolfpack went 8-1 in those games. Warren also led the ACC in offensive rebounding (3.2 per game) and ranked among the top five in steals (54) and top 10 in rebounding (7.1) and minutes played (34.9).

“He played at a high level all season long,” Gottfried said.

Warren joins Ronnie Shavlik (1956), Lou Pucillo (1959), Rodney Monroe (1991), Hodge and David Thompson as N.C. State’s other player of the year winners. Thompson won the award three straight years from 1973 to ’75.

•  Freshman of year: Parker was a nearly unanimous selection, receiving 72 of 77 votes. Syracuse guard Tyler Ennis received four and Virginia’s London Perrantes one. Parker also was the coaches’ choice.

•  Coach of year: Virginia’s Tony Bennett received 68 votes to win the award. North Carolina’s Roy Williams finished second with six votes. Pitt’s Jamie Dixon, Clemson’s Brad Brownell and Miami’s Jim Larranaga each received one vote. Bennett also was the coaches’ choice.

•  Defensive player of year: Clemson’s K.J. McDaniels won the award with 39 votes. Parker (4), Warren (1), Paige (1) and Wake Forest’s Devin Thomas were among those also receiving votes. McDaniels also was the coaches’ choice.


Giglio: 919-829-8938

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service