Cary Boy Scout Troop 210 recognizes 12 Eagle Scouts

April 13, 2014 

Twelve members of Troop 210 recently attained the rank of Eagle Scout, the highest achievement in Boy Scouting.

They were honored in a joint ceremony that was among the largest ever held by the Boy Scouts of America Occoneechee Council, which encompasses 12 counties. It was the largest in the troop’s 49-year history.

“Troop 210 is proud of its history and the Eagle Scouts who have been part of our troop,” Duane Grotheer, Scoutmaster of Troop 210, said in a statement. “This was a special event where we could not only recognize these 12 outstanding Scouts, but also inspire our younger Scouts to work hard on their trail to Eagle.”

Recognized in the ceremony were Scouts Walker Adams, Vaughn Burgess, Josh Dickerson, Zak Dickerson, Nick Hawk, Brandon Hogan, Andrew Hoyle, Stuart McGahey, Patrick O’Neill, Nick Smedley, Andrew Taylor and Matt Thornton.

To achieve Eagle Scout rank, Scouts must coordinate and carry out a community service project and earn a minimum of 21 merit badges. Troop 210 has had 155 of its Scouts attain the Eagle rank.

The 12 Scouts’ projects provided more than 1,200 hours of community service. The boys earned more than 350 merit badges, and camped a total of more than 850 nights.

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service