Raleigh Hall of Fame inductees announced for 2014

From staff reportsApril 15, 2014 

— An architect whose projects helped revive downtown, a physician who has served as a Shaw University trustee for 50 years and a longtime leader of a child abuse prevention agency are among the inductees into the Raleigh Hall of Fame this year.

The names of the eight people and two organizations to be inducted this fall were released Tuesday. They will join 104 other people and 19 other organizations who have been inducted since 2005.

The new inductees are:

• Richard “Dick” Daugherty, who oversaw growth of the IBM campus in Research Triangle Park and helped form N.C. State University’s Centennial Campus.

• George C. Debnam, Shaw University trustee and a physician who founded the Debnam Clinic.

• L. Merritt Jones, an insurance executive who was involved in several local organizations, including Raleigh Little Theatre, the Lions Club and Hospice of Wake County.

• Marjorie Menestres, who served as executive director of SAFEchild for more than 20 years.

• Steve D. Schuster, an architect who has been instrumental in downtown Raleigh’s revitalization through personal effort and the work of his firm, Clearscapes.

• Cornelia Norris McKimmon Trott, a lawyer who became president of the Lawyers Title Insurance Company of North Carolina.

• William Thaddeus Woodard, president of the N.C. Bankers Association for 36 years and the face of the “Warmth for Wake” program.

• William Woods Holden, the state’s first Republican governor who fought to suppress the Ku Klux Klan in the years after the Civil War.

• Meals on Wheels

• The Raleigh Fine Arts Society

The induction ceremony is scheduled to take place Oct. 6 at the Raleigh Convention Center.

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service