UNC’s Loeb named ACC women’s tennis Player of the Year

News ServicesApril 23, 2014 

— North Carolina freshman Jamie Loeb was named the ACC women’s tennis Player of the Year to and lead the All-ACC Team announced by commissioner John Swofford on Wednesday.

UNC’s Haley Carter was a first-team selection as Freshman of the Year. Clemson’s Nancy Harris was named the Coach of the Year. Honors were determined by a vote of the league’s 15 head coaches.

Loeb is the third North Carolina player to earn Player of the Year honors, while Carter is the from UNC to earn the Freshman of the Year award.

Loeb, the top ranked player in the nation, has enjoyed one of the finest seasons in ACC history. She enters the ACC tournament this week with a 45-2 overall singles record. Loeb went a 14-0 in league matches and owns a 26-1 dual match record playing exclusively at No. 1 singles.

Carter is ranked No. 5 nationally with a 41-6 overall singles record. She went 12-1 in ACC play and 20-2 in dual matches playing all spring at No. 2.

Together, Loeb and Carter are country’s No. 3 doubles tandem with a 30-3 overall mark. They went 9-0 against the ACC and are a perfect 16-0 in dual matches.

Duke’s Ester Goldfeld, Hanna Mar and Beatrice Capra were named to the conference’s first team.

Joelle Kissell, N.C. State’s only selection, was joined by UNC’s Caroline Price on the second team.

ACC Tournament: No. 14 seed N.C. State won the doubles points and got singles victories from Joelle Kissell and Rachael James-Baker, but fell to 11th-seeded Virginia Tech, 4-3, in the first round of the ACC tournament at Cary during a match that lasted more than four hours. ... No. 13 Wake Forest beat No. 12 Maryland 4-1 and will face No. 5 Duke in the second round. ... No. 10 Boston College swept Pittsburgh 4-0.

Men’s Lacrosse

All-ACC teams: Duke and North Carolina each had four players named to the All-ACC team as determined by a vote of the conference’s six coaches.

The Blue Devils was represented by seniors Jordan Wolf – a four-time selection – and Brendan Fowler, and sophomores Deemer Class and Myles Jones.

UNC’s selections were juniors Jimmy Bitter, Joey Sankey and Chad Tutton and senior Ryan Creighton.

Women’s Lacross

All-ACC team: North Carolina had five selections and Duke four to highlight area players named to the All-ACC teams.

Seniors Abbey Friend and Sloane Serpe and freshman Caylee Waters earned spots on the first team for the Tar Heels. Sophomores Megan Ward and Aly Messinger were on the second team.

Senior defender Taylor Virden and junior midfielder Taylor Trimble were named to the all-conference first team for the Blue Devils while junior attacker Kerrin Maurer and senior midfielder Maddy Morrissey received second team honors.

Maryland and Syracuse had four selections apiece.

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service