Two Wolfpack teams earn NCAA awards

From News ReleasesMay 7, 2014 

The N.C. State women’s golf and women’s tennis programs have received a Public Recognition Award from the NCAA for earning high scores in the most recent Academic Progress Rate (APR) compilation.

The women’s golf team received the honor for the third straight year, while the women’s tennis team was listed for the second consecutive year. In addition, this year marks the sixth straight year that N.C. State has had at least two of its programs recognized.

The APR Public Recognition Awards are given annually to teams with an APR in the top 10 percent of its sport.

The NCAA’s APR is designed to track the academic progress of each student-athlete on scholarship at a particular institution. It accounts for eligibility, retention and graduation to provide a measure of each team’s academic performance. The APRs for this year are based on scores from the 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-2012 and 2012-13 academic years.


East Carolina: East Carolina softball seniors Kristi Oshiro, Chelsea Kaluhiokalani-Glackin and Shelby Johnson and redshirt junior Abby Wynne were named to the 2014 All-Conference USA Second Team in an announcement made by the league office on Wednesday afternoon.

Oshiro’s nod is her second in as many years, while Kaluhiokalani-Glackin, Johnson and Wynne were each selected for the first time in their careers. Wynne becomes just the second Pirate catcher in program history to earn All-C-USA honors and the first since Krista Jessup in 2005.

The four selections mark the fourth time in program history and first since 2011 that ECU had four players receive all-conference honors, and the first time that all four were named to the second team.

Softball and Baseball

Campbell: – Softball player Shaela Churchill and baseball player Brandon Wilson are among the record seven student-athletes who have been named as recipients of the Big South Conference’s prestigious George A. Christenberry Award for Academic Excellence. The award is given to the male and female student-athlete who attains the highest GPA during their college careers. It is the second consecutive year with a record total, and the 11th time in the last 12 years that more than two student-athletes have been honored.

The conference will formally present the awards on May 29 at The Marriott Resort in Hilton Head, S.C.

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service