Big Eight all-conference boys lacrosse team

Posted by J. Mike Blake on May 30, 2014 

Cardinal Gibbons senior Gannon Morrison (10) looks to move past Chapel Hill Êjunior Noah Layden (37), left during the first quarter. Morrison had 4 goals and 4 assists for the Crusaders. The Chapel Hill Tigers played the Cardinal Gibbons Crusaders in the Big Eight Conference Lacrosse Championship on Monday, May 5, 2014 in Raleigh, N.C. Cardinal Gibbons won the game, 15-2.


Cardinal Gibbons, the 1A/2A/3A boys lacrosse state champions, went undefeated this year. So it made sense for the Crusaders to take Big Eight Conference offensive and defensive player of the year awards. Senior Gannon Morrison was the offensive winner while junior Chris Lappin was the defensive winner.

Northwood coach Kevin McDaniel, who guided the Chargers to their first-ever postseason, was coach of the year.

The Big Eight Conference has seven school that play lacrosse. They are grouped together into “Conference 6,” as it’s called by the NCHSAA.

Big Eight boys lacrosse all-conference awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Gannon Morrison (Cardinal Gibbons)

Defensive Player of the Year: Chris Lappin (Cardinal Gibbons)

Coach of the Year: Kevin McDaniel (Northwood)

Goalies: Anders Haaland (Chapel Hill), Kevin McHendry (Cardinal Gibbons) and Dylan McKinnon (Orange).

Defenders: Chris Lappin (Cardinal Gibbons); Matt Bowen (Cardinal Gibbons); Jack Prevost (Cardinal Gibbons); Noah Laden (Chapel Hill); Cole Churchill (Cedar Ridge); Daniel Allred (Orange); Jack Dalton (Northwood); Zach Watkins (J.F. Webb).

Long-stick midfield: Grant Deselm (Chapel Hill).

Faceoff specialists: Steven Albright (Cardinal Gibbons); Brett Buchman (Chapel Hill).

Midfielders: Robert Lavelle (Cardinal Gibbons); Daniel Geiger (Cardinal Gibbons); Chad Snyder (Cardinal Gibbons); Peter Norwood (Chapel Hill); Graham Tobin (Cedar Ridge); Rob Hamlet (Northwood); Tyler Romel (Northwood); James Harward (Orange).

Attackmen: Gannon Morrison (Cardinal Gibbons); Mark Schachte (Cardinal Gibbons); Hunter Van Horn (Cardinal Gibbons); Paul Miller (Chapel Hill); Jeffrey Williams (Cedar Ridge); Wesley Meyer (Northwood); Bowen Collins (Orange).

Honorable mention

Goalies: Jacob Birkhead (Orange), Dylan Livingston (Cedar Ridge)

Defender: Wesley Roberson (Northwood)

Midfield: Luke Wheeless (J.F. Webb)

Attackmen: Adam Reynolds (Orange)

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service