College Notebook

2 Blue Devils on watch list for Lombardi award

From News ReleasesJuly 14, 2014 

— Duke redshirt senior linebacker Kelby Brown and offensive guard Laken Tomlinson were named to the watch list for the Rotary Lombardi Award, which goes to the top lineman or linebacker in college football. Brown was also named to the watch list for the Dick Butkus Award as one of the nation’s top linebackers.


Under Amour: Future Blue Devils Maddie Crutchfield and Kyra Harney guided the North squad to an 18-11 victory over the South squad in the at the 2014 Under Armour All-America Girls Lacrosse Classic in Towson, Md. Crutchfield scored two goals and Harney contributed one goal and one assist, while Crutchfield also led all players in the contest with three ground balls.


N.C. State: Women’s tennis coach Simon Earnshaw announced that former All-American and ACC Player of the Year Gina Suarez-Malaguti has joined the coaching staff as an assistant coach.


UNC: North Carolina junior midfielder Katie Bowen (Auckland, New Zealand) has been named the captain of the New Zealand Under-20 Team that will compete for the Junior Football Ferns side at the FIFA U-20 World Cup in Canada in August.


Scholars named: Nine Tar Heels were chosen to receive the CSCAA Individual Scholar All-America Award. UNC’s first-team selections included junior Patrick Myers and freshman Jack Nyquist from the men’s team and freshman Abby Fisher, sophomore Ally Hardesty, sophomore Annie Harrison, senior Meredith Hoover, sophomore Emma Nunn, senior Katie Rechsteiner and senior Carly Smith from the women’s squad.

Duke first-teamers are Nick McCrory, Lauren Weaver, Christine Wixted and Jessie Sutherland. In addition, McCrory was named the ACC Men’s Swimming and Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

N.C. State first-teamers are Jonathan Boffa, Christian McCurdy and Andreas Schiellerup for the men, and Zina Grogg and Alexia Zevnik on the women’s team.

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service