Chapel Hill: Community

June 6, 2014

Notables: June 8

Dr. Ken May of Chapel Hill, N.C., has been elected 2015 vice president of the N.C. Dental Society (NCDS) at the organization’s 158th Annual Session in Myrtle Beach, S.C.
• Chapel Hill resident Maya Weinberg has been selected as a Ronald McDonald House Scholar. The RMHC scholarship recipients were chosen based on their leadership skills, academic success, community involvement, financial need and a personal essay describing how they intend to make a difference in society.
•  Nabil Kalantar won first place in N.C. for his essay in the middle school division of the 2013 Fall Stock Market Game Invest Write essay contest. The N.C. Council on Economic Education (NCCEE) works with K-12 teachers statewide to give students a better understanding of economics.
•  Carl William Hintz, a senior at Carrboro High School, recently received a $10,000 four-year scholarship to N.C. State University from the SECU Foundation. Hintz is the son of Loren Hints and Margaret Vimmerstedt. the scholarship recognizes the recipient’s community involvement, leadership skills, character and integrity, as well as scholastic achievement of maintaining a 2.5 or higher grade point average. The scholarship will be used for tuition and university approved educational expenses over eight consecutive semesters.
•  Keith S. Jennings will graduate from Oregon State University Saturday, June 14, with a Master of Science in Water Resources Science.
• Math teacher Dale Bunch was selected by his fellow teachers as Chatham Charter School’s 2014-15 Teacher of the Year. Bunch has taught math at the school for the past 18 years.
•  The Chatham Charter Junior Beta Club recently recapped its year of service projects. In the spring the club made hope boxes for middle school students in Kentucky who could not afford basic hygiene items. In October, the chapter helped raise drug awareness on campus during the national Red Ribbon Week, and in December chapter members served backstage during third grade productions of The Nutcracker.
•  Jack Matson Conrad was named to the Dean’s List at the University of the South for the Spring 2014 term. To earn a place on the Sewanee's Dean's List, a student must earn a minimum grade point average of 3.625 on a 4.0 scale. Conrad is the child of Margaret and Clayton Reid Conrad.
•  Dr. Nona Breeland of Chapel Hill, N.C., has been re-elected American Dental Association (ADA) Delegate-at-Large of the North Carolina Dental Society (NCDS). The NCDS represents more than 3,600 dentists in the state.
•  Dr. Ken May of Chapel Hill, N.C., has been elected 2015 vice president of the N.C. Dental Society (NCDS) at the organization’s 158th Annual Session in Myrtle Beach, S.C. The NCDS represents more than 3,600 dentists in the state.
•  David Young, CEO of VIF International Education has been appointed to the Executive Board of The Partnership for 21st Century Skills (P21). The Partnership for 21st Century Skills (P21) was founded in 2002 as a coalition bringing together the business community, education leaders, and policymakers to position 21st century readiness at the center of US K-12 education and to kick-start a national conversation on the importance of 21st century skills for all students. Young is a Wake Forest Alumni, and has been with VIF for almost 24 years.
•  Julie Keane, Senior Research Associate at VIF International Education, has been invited to participate on Convergence Academies Advisory. Convergence Academies is a a DOE-supported i3 model demonstration project centered on school reform through digital media and connected learning. Keane graduated with a PhD in Education from UNC-Chapel Hill in 2010. She has been with VIF for 2.5 years.
• Trading Path Preservation Association founder Tom Magnuson was recently honored with the Ben Franklin Society’s Emeritus Award. Magnuson, a long-time resident of Hillsborough, founded the Trading Path Association in 1999 to study and protect remnants from the time of first contact between Native Americans and Europeans. Since 2008 he has served as a Roads Scholar with the N.C. Humanities Council speaking on Colonial-era transportation and associated changes.
• Chapel Hill residents Liberty A. Britz, Janine N. Eduljee and Erin M. Strine recently made the Dean’s List at Northeastern University in Boston. The students made the Dean’s List by having a GPA of 3.5 or higher and carrying no single grade lower than a C- during the course of her college career. Britz is majoring in Human Services, Eduljee is majoring in Journalism and Strine is majoring in International Affairs.
•  Jay White has been appointed as vice president and general manager of Southern Season’s flagship store in Chapel Hill. White joined Southern Season in 1994 as one of the floor managers and quickly became the face of the store. After Southern Season was acquired in 2011, White worked with the new leadership in a senior corporate role and headed the new store development team where he opened the Charleston, S.C., store in September 2013 and is leading the team that is opening the Richmond, Va., store in July 2014.
• The following students from Chapel Hill have been named to UNC Asheville's Spring 2014 Dean’s List: Gina Isabella Beer, Erin Elizabeth Bishop, Maggie Brown Booterbaugh, Mary Isabelle Bunch, Fiona Aileen Cunningham, Taylor Elizabeth Daly, Emma Rose Drake, Gabriel Glenn Fobert, Anna Flair Gachechiladze, Jack Yancey Gurley, Colette Marie Heiser, David Lane High, Elizabeth Cortese Howe, Lindsey Kamala Johnson, Michael Andrew Jones, Sarah Katherine Luca, Gabriel Kalani Matza, Yekaterina Yuryevna Mirzoyan, Emily Margaret Morris, Ariana Peden, Emily Elizabeth Powell, Benjamin Philip Rosen, Sheldon Leigh Schenck, Alexandra Elizabeth Slydel, Gabriel Matiah Smiley, Jonathan Hugo Sowder, Meghan Aubrey Theye, Sarah Rose Weaver, Beryl Louise Wei, Hannah D Wiepke and Jessica Rose Young.

In addition, Thomas Joseph Lovejoy-Henkel, Connor Mckinnon Randolph and Gena Gaines Steffens have been named to the Chancellor’s List. The Chancellor's List is made up of full-time students who have achieved a 4.0 grade point average. The Dean's List is made up of full-time students who have achieved between 3.5 and 3.99 grade point average.

• Chapel Hill native Desirae Lindquist recently graduated from Campbell University’s College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences in Buies Creek, North Carolina. Lindquist received her doctor of pharmacy degree. She was also awarded the Campbell University College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences’ Alumni Association Senior Award. The Alumni Association Senior Award is presented to a student who has demonstrated exceptional support of the College and Alumni Association. The student must have the motivation to make a difference in the lives of future students through his/her active involvement in the association.

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos