Tryouts, practices kick off Friday

07/31/2014 11:16 AM

07/31/2014 2:39 PM

Friday marks the first day of football practice for N.C. High School Athletics Association teams statewide, and most fall sports follow suit next week.

All potential athletes must have a completed physical exam and register on-line or have written permission slips from a parent or guardian before participating in tryouts or practices. Contact your school to get the necessary forms.

Here's a look at the dates and times for first practices at local high schools.

Carrboro High School

Cross Country: Aug. 1 Aug. 4, 7 a.m. at Finley Soccer Field, 100 Old Mason Farm Rd.

Women's Golf: Aug. 1 Informational meeting in the school commons at 10 a.m. Tryouts on Aug. 7 at Leeperland, 9-10:30 a.m.

Field Hockey: Aug. 4-5, 8-10 a.m. and 6-8 p.m. Aug. 6, 6-8 p.m. Meet at the baseball field.

Football: Aug. 1 and Aug. 4-6, Friday through Wednesday, 7:30-10 a.m. (Athletes need to bring football shoes, signed student-athlete and parent concussion statement and arrive at Carrboro HS at 7 a.m. to receive a helmet)

Men's Soccer: Aug. 4-5-6, 8-10 a.m. at the practice field.

Women's Tennis: Aug. 4 6 p.m. at the tennis courts

Volleyball: Aug. 4 9-11 a.m. and 4-6 p.m. Aug 5 9-11 a.m. and 4-6 p.m.

Chapel Hill High School

Cross Country: Aug. 4, 6 p.m. (Coach Joan Mabe - joannesbitmabe@gmail.com)

Field Hockey: Aug. 4, 8:30 a.m. (Coach Wendy Bennett - wbennett@chccs.k12.nc.us)

Football: Aug. 1, 6 p.m. (Coach Issac Marsh - imarsh@chccs.k12.nc.us)

Women’s Golf: Aug. 11, TBA (Coach Jim Williams - jimwilliamschhsgolfcoach@gmail.com)

Men’s Soccer: Aug. 4, 7:30 a.m. & 6:30 p.m. (Coach Jason Curtis - jcurtis@chccs.k12.nc)

Women’s Tennis: Aug. 4, 6 p.m. (Coach Neil Alderman - nga202@me.com)

Volleyball: Aug. 1, 8:30 am (Coach Jody Brown - jcbrown6boca@gmail.com)

JV Cheerleading: TBA (Coach Ashley Lanier - ashleymlanier@gmail.com)

East Chapel Hill High School

Cross Country: Aug. 11; Meet at East track; 6-8 p.m. (Coach Steve Marquis - smarquis@chccs.k12.nc.us)

Field Hockey: Aug. 4-8; tryouts East softball field 6-7:30 p.m. (Coach Susan Taylor - setaylor@chccs.k12.nc.us)

Football: Aug. 1: 7-10 a.m. (Assistant Coach Will Brady - wbrady@chccs.k12.nc.us)

Men's Soccer: Aug 4-6; 8-10 a.m. and 6-8 p.m. each day (Coach Austin Collins - austintcollins@gmail.com)

Volleyball: Aug. 4-6; 9-11 a.m. and 4-6 p.m. (Coach Michelle Wood - mwood@chccs.k12.nc.us)

Women's Golf: TBA (Head Coach Henry Essey - heegolfin@aol.com)

Women's Tennis: Aug. 7; 8-10 a.m. at the East tennis courts (Coach Lindsay Linker - llinker58@gmail.com)

Cheerleading: TBA (Coach Carolyn Cotton - ccotton@chccs.k12.nc.us)

Cedar Ridge High School

Cedar Ridge will hold its 2014 fall sports mandatory meeting for players, parents and coaches at 6 p.m. Thursday, July 31, in the school gym. Anyone trying out for a fall sport should attend.

Cross-country: TBA. (Contact jennifer.pepin@orange.k12.nc.us for details - 919-245-4000, ext. 21065)

Football: Aug. 1, 8-11 a.m. Meet at the CRHS Gym, boys locker room. (Interim football coach Clay Jones - clay.jones@orange.k12.nc.us - 919-245-4000, ext. 21703)

Women's Golf: TBA. (Coach Andy Simmons - andy.simmons@orange.k12.nc.us - 919-245-4124)

Men's Soccer: Aug. 1-2, 6-9 p.m. (Coach Chris Walker - chris.walker@orange.k12.nc.us - 919-732-6137, ext. 43700)

Women's Tennis: Aug. 1. on the CRHS tennis courts, time TBA. (Coach Andy Simmons - andy.simmons@orange.k12.nc.us - 919-245-4124)

Volleyball: Aug. 1-2, 9-11:30 a.m. (Coach Charlie Oakley - charlie.oakley@orange.k12.nc.us - 919-245-4000, ext. 21207)

Cheerleading: August 4-6, in the CRHS gym, 4-6 p.m. (Coach Toi Burton - toiburton@hotmail.com)

Orange High School

Cross-Country: Aug. 4, at Auman Stadium Track, 8-9:15 a.,. (Coach Russell Westbrook russell.westbrook@orange.k12.nc.us - 919 -732-9326, ext. 40700)

Football: Aug. 1, 6-8:30 p.m., meet at field house. (Coach Pat Moser - pat.moser @orange.k12.nc.us - 919-732-6133, ext. 20705)

Women's Golf: TBA. (Coach Earnie Price - earnie.price@orange.k12.nc.us - 919-732-7253)

Men's Soccer: Aug. 1, 6:15-8:15 p.m., meet at soccer field. (Palmer Bowman - palmer.bowman@orange.k12.nc.us - 919-732-6133, ext. 20205)

Women's Tennis: Aug. 1, at OHS Tennis Courts, 4 p.m. (Coach Andy Brown - andy.brown @orange.k12.nc.us - 919-732-6121, ext. 30710)

Volleyball: Aug. 1 and Aug. 4-5, 1-3:30 p.m. (Christina Schmelzer christina.schmelzer@gmail.com - 919-308-2011, or Bill Carinci william.carinci@gmail.com - 315-264-9074.

Cheerleading: Aug. 7-8, 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. and Aug. 9, 9-11:30 a.m. in the OHS Gym. (Kaycee Butcher - kaycee.butcher @orange.k12.nc.us - 919-732-6133, ext. 20110 or Clarissa Kumor clarissa.kumor@orange.k12.nc.us - 919- 732-6133, ext. 20758)

Sports Videos

Join the Discussion

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service