Arts group elects officers

08/11/2014 9:07 PM

08/11/2014 9:07 PM

Amy Beshgetoorian of Clayton has been elected president of Clayton Visual Arts Inc. for 2014-15. Jim Hopkins and Tim Johnson, also of Clayton, have been elected to the board of directors.

Returning officers are Kathleen Nobles, vice president; Barbara Nangle, secretary; Frank Dziepak, treasurer; Larry Strevig, past president; and board members Don Stephenson and Jo Lee Tucker. All are from Clayton except Tucker, who lives in Four Oaks.

Officers were elected in June and took office July 1.

Beshgetoorian, a Clayton resident since 2007, is a watercolorist who returned to art seriously about four or five years ago. She exhibited her work at The Clayton Center in July 2013.

A native of Virginia, Beshgetoorian and her husband have a son and daughter.

She succeeds Larry Strevig of Clayton, who served two two-year stints as president.

Clayton Visual Arts is a nonprofit dedicated to bringing art to Clayton. It is supported in part by the Town of Clayton Cultural Arts Foundation.

Editor's Choice Videos

Join the Discussion

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service