Smithfield Herald

November 5, 2013

Voters back school, college bond

Johnston County voters on Tuesday said yes to borrowing $57 million for their public schools and $7 million for their community college.

Johnston County voters on Tuesday said yes to borrowing $57 million for their public schools and $7 million for their community college.

Support for the referendums was overwhelming, with more than 75 percent of voters saying yes to borrowing for new buildings, classroom wings and other facilities.

Here’s a look at other voting in Johnston County on Tuesday.

In Archer Lodge, incumbent Councilmen Carlton Vinson and Mark B. Wilson were unopposed in their bids for re-election to the town council.

Incumbents Will T. Chandler and Frederick D. Nelson Jr. won re-election to the Benson Town Council. So did political newcomer Jerry Medlin, who won after a third incumbent chose not to seek re-election. Incumbent Mayor William W. Massengill Jr. was unopposed in his bid for re-election.

Clayton voters stuck with their incumbents. Councilmen Michael Grannis, Art Holder and Bob Satterfield were the top three finishers in the race for three seats on the town council. They were relatively easy winners over political newcomers Bobby Bunn, Eboni Harrell and John McFadden.

Four Oaks voters re-elected both incumbents running for town commissioner. John G. Hatch and Walter R. Holt outran political newcomer Jason H. Grady. Incumbent Mayor Linwood H. Parker was unopposed for re-election.

In Kenly, David Grady will continue as mayor. Incumbent Bonnie Williamson will stay on the council, joining newcomers James Little and Joe McDougald.

McDougald won the race to fill an unexpired term term on the council, beating Sherwood Mitchell.

In Micro, Jim Wiesner won the race for mayor against incumbent Gene Hinton. Incumbents Johnny Dixon and Timothy Earp will continue to serve as town commissioners, joining Donald Holland.

Pine Level re-elected three of four incumbent town commissioners: Karen V. Anderson, Jimmy F. Garner and Phil Pittman. Newcomer Greg Baker also won election, slipping past Anthony Gudac by nine votes. Mayor Jay Jeffrey “Jeff” Holt was unopposed in his bid for re-election.

Princeton voters re-elected their unopposed incumbents: Mayor Donald B. Rains and town commissioners David C. Starling and Larry Whithrow.

Selma Mayor Cheryl L. Oliver won re-election by a landslide. Incumbent Jackie Lacy won re-election to the town council, and newcomer William E. Overby joined her to win the remaining seat.

The outcome of Smithfield’s only contested race, for the District 4 council seat, is uncertain. Voters on Tuesday gave Roger A. Wood 135 votes; Carvus Andrew “Andy” Byrd won 133 votes. The winner could change after provisional ballots are counted.

In Wilson’s Mills, incumbent Philip Wright ran unopposed and will continue as the town’s mayor. Incumbent Town Council member Kenneth Jones won re-election. Newcomers Fleta Byrd and Randy Jernigan will fill the other two open seats.

Related content



Editor's Choice Videos