Big Eight Conference announces post-season honors

03/20/2014 4:56 PM

02/15/2015 10:43 AM

The Big Eight 3A Conference announced its post-season honors for winter sports on Thursday.

Chapel Hill, which won or shared conference boys’ and girls’ championships in both basketball and swimming, saw four of its athletes win top honors.

Chapel Hill center Catherine Romaine was named the Big Eight girls basketball player of the year after helping the Tigers win the NCHSAA 3A state championship last weekend, while Sherry Norris was named coach of the year, having led Chapel Hill to a 32-0 record.

Chapel Hill swept the Big Eight’s swimming team championships and most of the sport’s top honors, with Kaitlin Jones named female swimmer of the year and Josh Taekman as male swimmer of the year. Chapel Hill’s James Willingham was the league’s male diver of the year, while Northwood’s Bailey Revels was the female diver of the year.

Jonah Turner of Cardinal Gibbons was named the girls’ and boys’ swimming coach of the year after guiding the Crusaders to a pair of runner-up finishes to Chapel Hill.

Keegan Crabtree of Orange, which shared the Big Eight boys basketball title with Chapel Hill, was named the conference’s male player of the year. Greg Motley was voted coach of the year by his fellow coaches and athletics directors.

Conference champion Orange dominated the wrestling honors, with undefeated state champion David Peters-Logue earning wrestler-of-the-year and all-conference honors at 170 pounds. Bobby Shriner repeated as wrestling coach of the year, and 11 of his wrestlers earned all-conference honors at their weight class.

Here’s the complete list, as announced by the Big Eight Conference.




Conference Co-Champions: Orange, Chapel Hill

Player of the Year: Keegan Crabtree, Orange

Coach of the Year: Coach Greg Motley, Orange

Sportsmanship Award: Northwood

All Conference

Moses Romocki, Cardinal Gibbons.

Justin Reid, Cardinal Gibbons.

Payton Pappas, Cedar Ridge.

Andy Gillespie, Chapel Hill.

Brian Thornton, Chapel Hill.

Ti Pinnix, Northwood.

Kadarus Rome, Northwood.

Tavin Moore, Northern Vance.

Stephon Cates, J.F. Webb.

Tyrek Beverly, J.F. Webb.

Jawan Chambers, Orange.

Keegan Crabtree, Orange.

Kendall Hinton, Southern Durham.

Amari Hamilton, Southern Durham.

Honorable Mention

Logan Bugg, Cardinal Gibbons.

Neil Higgins, Cedar Ridge.

David Carraher, Chapel Hill.

Shane Tumer, Chapel Hill.

Jared Worley, Northwood.

Darius Cole, Northwood.

Kris Haywood, Northern Vance.

Tommie Reed, Northern Vance.

Devonte Williams, J.F. Webb.

Eryk Brandon Dean, Orange.

J.D. Brooks, Orange.

Detavious Jones, Orange.

Marvin Tillman, Southern Durham.


Conference Champion: Chapel Hill

Player of the Year: Catherine Romaine, Chapel Hill

Coach of the Year: Sherry Norris, Chapel Hill

Sportsmanship Award: Orange


Catherine Romaine, Chapel Hill.

Jamella Smith, Chapel Hill.

Autumn West, Chapel Hill.

Raziyah Farrington, Chapel Hill.

Kacia Vines, Cedar Ridge.

Morgan Reid, Cardinal Gibbons.

Olivia Smith, Cardinal Gibbons.

Madison Beuris, Cardinal Gibbons.

Shontai Totten, Northwood.

Alexis Joyner, Southern Durham.

Bryanna Staton, Southern Durham.

Starr Jones, Oxford Webb.

Kenya Perry, Northern Vance.

Jackie Miller, Northern Vance.

Deja Johnson, Orange.

Kaylen Campbell, Orange.


Conference Champion: Chapel Hill

Swimmer of the Year: Josh Taekman, Chapel Hill

Diver of the Year: James Willingham, Chapel Hill

Coach of the Year: Jonah Turner, Cardinal Gibbons

Sportsmanship Award: Cardinal Gibbons


200 Medley Relay: Cardinal Gibbons – Christopher Raymond; Noah Cairns; Shane Humphrey; Andy Lui.

200 Freestyle: Josh Taekman, Chapel Hill; Josh Conger, Northwood

200 Individual Medley: Noah Cairns, Cardinal Gibbons; Jacob Werden, Chapel Hill:

50 Free: C.J. Eron, Chapel Hill; Jake Pudik, Chapel Hill

100 Butterfly: Patrick ODonnell, Chapel Hill; Josh Conger, Northwood

100 Free: Jake Pudik, Chapel Hill; C.J. Eron, Chapel Hill:

500 Free: Noah Cairns, Cardinal Gibbons; Josh Taekman, Chapel Hill

200 Free Relay: Chapel Hill – C.J. Eron; Jake Pudik; Josh Taekman; Connor Korfas.

100 Breaststroke: Patrick ODonnell, Chapel Hill; Evan Rose, Chapel Hill

100 Backstroke: Christopher Raymond, Cardinal Gibbons; David Batson, Chapel Hill

400 Freestyle Relay: Chapel Hill – David Batson; Casey Mickunas; Takoda Ren; Eli Rose.


Conference Champion: Chapel Hill.

Swimmer of the Year: Kaitlin Jones, Chapel Hill

Diver of the Year: Bailey Revels, Northwood

Coach of the Year: Jonah Turner, Cardinal Gibbons

Sportsmanship Award: Cardinal Gibbons

Team Spirit Award: Orange


200 Medley Relay: Chapel Hill – Anabelle Durham; Kaitlin Jones; Julia Sisk; Rachel Samuelson.)

200 Freestyle: Emily Dykstra, Cardinal Gibbons; Jaylyn Forrest, Chapel Hill.

200 Individual Medley: Claire DeSelm, Chapel Hill; Uma Knaven, CHHS

50 Free: Kaitlin Jones, Chapel Hill; Sophia Lindem, Cardinal Gibbons:

100 Butterfly: Claire DeSelm, Chapel Hill; Haley Allen, Cardinal Gibbons

100 Free: Anabelle Durham, Chapel Hill; Sammy Stone, Cardinal Gibbons

500 Free: Emily Dykstra, Cardinal Gibbons; Uma Knaven, Chapel Hill

200 Free Relay: Cardinal Gibbons – Sammy Stone; Sophia Lindem; Haley Allen; Emily Dykstra.

100 Breaststroke: Kaitlin Jones, Chapel Hill; Becca Churchill, Chapel Hill

100 Backstroke: Anabelle Durham, Chapel Hill; Haley Allen, Cardinal Gibbons

400 Free Relay: Chapel Hill – Claire DeSelm; Anabelle Durham; Jaylyn Forrest; Uma Knaven.


Wrestler of the Year: David Peters-Logue, Orange

Coach of the Year: Bobby Shriner, Orange

Sportsmanship Award: Orange

All Conference

106: Grant Thompson, Orange; Colbey Hobgood, Northern Vance; Carson Amy, Northwood.

113: Zach Allen, Chapel Hill; David Wicklin, Cardinal Gibbons; Justin Perry, Oxford Webb.

120: Joe Scott, Orange; Jacob Tutor, Cedar Ridge ; Joel Royster, Northern Vance.

126: Gonzalo Garcia-Cantoral, Orange; IMoney Rushing, Chapel Hill.

132: Jared Flynn, Orange ; Hunter Queen, Northwood.

138: Collin Smith, Orange; Tommy Morrison, Chapel Hill; Rob Hamlet, Northwood.

145: Trent Tanner, Orange ; Grady Pritchard, Cedar Ridge; Shemar Brandon, Southern Durham.

152: Melik Jimenez, Orange ; Erik Jens, Chapel Hill.

160: Joshua Clark, Orange ; Michael Queen, Northwood.

170: David Peters-Logue, Orange; Trey Harris, Cedar Ridge.

182: Austin Peters, Orange; Nicholas Witham, Cardinal Gibbons.

195: James Taylor, Southern Durham; Hunter Blackmon, Northwood.

220: George McBurney, Chapel Hill; Jack Dalton, Northwood.

285: Byron Stephenson, Orange; Hudson Price, Chapel Hill.

At Large: Argie Burnette, Orange; Camden Bergey, Chapel Hill; Eliot Martin, Chapel Hill; Mykel Williams, Northern Vance; Justin Care, Northern Vance; John Dunning, Northwood; Hakeem Huggins, Southern Durham.

Sports Videos

Join the Discussion

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service