NCHSAA and NCISAA 2014 boys golf wrap-up

05/19/2014 5:43 PM

02/15/2015 11:18 AM

State qualifiers, links to our stories from conference, regional and state meets plus much more from the 2014 boys golf postseason.

All-Metro team coming later this month. N&O boys golfer of the year will be in June.

State championships

NCHSAA 4A: Broughton wins 11th title, Millbrook 5th, Green Hope 6th; Millbrook’s Stephen Franken takes second individually; Wake County has 6 of top 8 individuals

NCHSAA 3A: Corinth Holders 6th, Cleveland 10th

NCHSAA 2A and 1A: Voyager Academy 11th in 1A; Bunn 12th in 2A

NCISAA: St. David’s second, Durham Trinity third, Cary Christian sixth in 2A; Durham Academy T6th, Ravenscroft 8th in 3A

Triangle-area top 10 players

NCHSAA 4A: Stephen Franken, Millbrook (2nd, 140); Alex Smalley, Wake Forest (3rd, 142); Preyer Fountain, Broughton (T5th, 145); Stephen Saleeby, Broughton (T5th, 145); Viraj Garawal, Panther Creek (7th, 147); Will Minton, Broughton (8th, 148)

NCHSAA 3A: none

NCHSAA 2A: Kaleb Lester, Carrboro (T9th, 147)

NCHSAA 1A: McKenzie Barringer, Voyager Academy (T8th, 150)

NCISAA 3A: Josh Landers, Ravenscroft (T4th, 142);

NCISAA 2A: Preston Hall, St. David’s (T4th, 142); Luke Farley, Durham Trinity (T4th, 142); Michael McMahon, Raleigh Grace Christian (T7th, 145)

NCISAA 1A: Daniel DeVane, Cape Fear Christian (9th, 169)

NCHSAA regional coverage

4A Mideast: Broughton wins; Millbrook and Green Hope also qualify as teams

• Individual qualifiers: Cole Ray - Wakefield; Viraj Garawal - Panther Creek; Alex Smalley -Wake Forest.

3A East: Corinth Holders wins; West Brunswick and Cleveland qualify as teams

• Individual qualifiers: Patrick Stephenson - South Johnston; Turner Garris - Wilson Fike; Nicky Beecroft - South Brunswick

3A Mideast: Burlington Williams wins; Northern Guilford and Rockingham County qualify as teams

• Individual qualifiers: Tristan Lough - Eastern Guilford; Ben Chrystler - Union Pines; David Cho - Chapel Hill.

1A East: Williamston Riverside wins; Lejeune and Manteo qualify as teams

• Individual qualifiers: Max Khon - Louisburg; Tucker Mooring - Northside Pinetown; Reed Wheless - Louisburg.

1A Mideast: Voyager Academy wins; Rosewood and Rose Hill Union qualify as teams

• Individual qualifiers: Griffin Faircloth - Salemburg Lakewood; Tim White - Salemburg Lakewood; Grant Lewis - Franklin Academy.

Conference championship coverage

Cap Eight 4A: Broughton first, Leesville Road second, Millbrook and Heritage tie for third.

Greater Neuse River 4A: Harnett Central first, West Johnston second, Garner third

Southwest Wake 4A: Green Hope first, Panther Creek second, Holly Springs third

Two Rivers 3A: Corinth Holders first, Cleveland second, South Johnston third

Like us on Facebook at or follow us on Twitter @PrepsNow.

Preps Now

Tim Stevens, J. Mike Blake, Clay Best, Caryn Grant, Aaron Moody and Elliott Warnock follow all the news for high school athletes from Wake, Orange, Durham, Chatham and Johnston counties.

Join the Discussion

News & Observer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere on the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Terms of Service