Chapel Hill: Community


The Chapel Hill-Carrboro Chamber of Commerce named winners of the Salute to Community Heroes Awards on Dec. 10:

▪ Carrboro Police Officer of the Year: Sgt. James Walker

▪ UNC Public Safety Employee of the Year: Sgt. Michael Laffan

▪ Chapel Hill Police Officer of the Year: Officer Brad Kramer

▪ Orange County ES EM Coordinator of the Year: Emergency Management Coordinator Kirby Saunders

▪ Orange County ES EMS Employee of the Year: EMS Logistics Officer James Lunsford

▪ Orange County Sheriff’s Employee of the Year: Chief Deputy Jamison Reed Sykes

▪ Chapel Hill Firefighter of the Year: Master Firefighter James R. Spero

▪ Carrboro Firefighter of the Year: Driver Josh Asbill

▪ Citizen of the Year: Mark Kleinschmidt

▪ Jim Gibson Volunteer of the Year: Archie Daniel

▪ Town and Gown Award Recipient: Anna Wu

▪ Irene Briggaman Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients: Fred Battle and Rev. Dr. Robert Seymour

Send Notables to