Chapel Hill: Sports

Camp season is in full swing in Chapel Hill-Carrboro

Kids at the YMCA’s Clearwater Lake summer camp. during a Chapel Hill YMCA summer camp program. DAVID ALFORD FOR THE NEWS & OBSERVER
Kids at the YMCA’s Clearwater Lake summer camp. during a Chapel Hill YMCA summer camp program. DAVID ALFORD FOR THE NEWS & OBSERVER

YMCA Camp Clearwater

The Chapel Hill-Carrboro YMCA continues to host its day camp at Clearwater Lake. The camp is for kids rising this summer to grades 1-8.

Two-week camp sessions will be held from through Aug. 5, and a one-week session will be Aug. 8-12, running from 7:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. each day.

Camp costs $378 for YMCA members and $454 for others. Financial assistance is avalable.

For more information, contact Alexander.Mayfield@YMCATriangle.org or 919-442-9622.

Basketball camps in Chapel Hill

The Edge: Will host two camps again this summer for boys and girls rising to grades 3 through 9. The Edge Basketball Camp runs July 18-22. The Edge’s “Nothing But Net” camp runs July 25-29.

Both camps run daily from 9 a.m. to 3:45 p.m. each day at Smith Middle School. For a registration form or more information, see theedgebasketballcamp.com or contact Coach Paul Kieckbusch at pkieckbusch@chccs.k12.nc.us or 919-452-0444.

Hoops at East: The 21st annual “Hoops at East” Summer Basketball Academy convenes this summer: July 11-15, running 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. each day. Held annually on the campus of at East Chapel Hill High School, “Hoops” basketball camp is open to rising third-graders through rising ninth-graders.

For more information, or to have a camp application mailed or emailed to your home, please see eastwildcats.com/hq/hoopsbasketball-camp/ or phone Coach Ray Hartsfield at 919-308-1350 or email coachray56@yahoo.com. Please leave you phone number and/or email address.

Youth Hoops: will hold camps at two area schools this summer – at Woods Charter SchoolChapel Hill and at St. Mary’s School in Raleigh. Woods Charter will host seven-week AAU camps (one for boys and one for girls), starting in the last week of June.

Woods Charter also will be the site for one-week skills camps that start July 11 and July 25, 6 p.m. to 7:30 p.m., Monday through Friday each week.

St. Mary’s will host an all-girls camp June 27-July 1, 6 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. each day. Camps will cover ball handling, shooting, offensive and defensive movement, and inside play/rebounding.

For more information, see youthhoops.com.

Orange High School Camps

Orange head coaches are offering a variety of skills camps this summer. They include:

Baseball: Advanced Skills Camp – for ages 11-14 years old, 9 a.m. to noon, June 27-29. For either camp, contact: OHS Coach Dean Dease at 919-732-6133, ext. 20200, or dean.dease@orange.k12.nc.us.

Basketball: for boys & girls, grades 3-10, from 8 a.m. -noon, June 27-30, at the OHS Gymnasium. Contact OHS Coach Greg Motley at 919-732-6133, ext. 20602, greg.motley@orange.k12.nc.us or coach B.J. Condron at 919-732-6133, ext. 20701, bj.condron@ornage.k12.nc.us.

Soccer: for ages 6-14 years old, 6-8:15 p.m., July 11-14. Contact: Coach Palmer Bowman: at 919-732-6133, ext. 20205, or palmer.bowman@orange.k12.nc.us.

Volleyball: Middle School Camp: for ages 9-14 (including rising ninth-graders), 8:30 to 11:30 a.m., July 13-15. Contact: Christina Schmelzer Carinci at 919-308-2011 ~ E-mail Address: christina.schmelzer@gmail.com.

Cedar Ridge High School Camps

Baseball: separate sessions for ages 6-10 years old and ages 11-14. From 9 a.m. to noon, July 11-13, at CRHS. Contact: Coach Jamie Athas at 919-245-4000, ext. 21702, or james.athas@orange.k12.nc.us.

Girl’s Basketball: for grades 1 through 9. from 5 to 8 p.m., July 11-14, in the CRHS Gymnasium. Contact: Coach Felton Page at 919-949-7847, or felton.page@orange.k12.nc.us.

Lacrosse: from 9 a.m. to noon, June 27-30, for rising 3rd- through 9th-graders. Contact: Coach Patrick Kavanaugh at 919-245-4000, ext. 21402, patrick.kavanaugh@orange.k12.nc.us.

Softball: for age 6 years up through rising ninth-graders. Sign-up available for one-day Pitching/Catching Camp on July 25, three-day All Skills Camp on July 26-28, or both camps July 25-28. Contact: Coach Jeff Gravitte at 919-407-1653, or Pam Scism at 919-245-4000, ext. 21757, or at pam.scism@orange.k12.nc.us.

Personal athletics & fitness training

Jon Beyle, assistant track and field coach at East Chapel Hill High School, is offering speed, agility, strength and power training sessions this summer. All age groups are welcome and the sessions are appropriate for all sports. Beyle is certified by multiple sport and fitness agencies, and he has coached several different sports in Chapel Hill for 25 years. For more information, email Jon at beyle1@aol.com.

  Comments