Chapel Hill: Sports

Tryouts, practices for high school fall sports start August 1

cliddy@newsobserver.com

Here is the latest information on tryouts and first practices for fall sports at local high schools, with contact information where available. Times and sites are subject to change.

All students must have completed physical exams and signed permission forms before they can take part in tryouts or practices for a school team.

Check your respective school’s web site for more information.

Carrboro High School

All students who plan to tryout for a team must have a current physical on file in the athletic director's office and register on 8to18 and submit a concussion form. Registration is on the athletic webpage. Forms may be dropped off at the main office, mailed or emailed to AD Ross, aross@chccs.k12.nc.us.

Cross Country: Aug. 1 at Whitfield Road entrance of Duke Forest; Aug. 2 at UNC Finley Soccer Field; Aug. 3 at Wilson Park, 7 a.m. each day. (Coach Mimi O’Grady)

Field Hockey: Aug. 1, time is TBD, at Carrboro High School. (Coach Morgan Cloutier)

Football: 7 a.m.-10 a.m., Aug. 1, at Carrboro High School. (Coach Ken Lathan)

Girls Golf: 10 a.m., Aug. 1, at Carrboro High School. (Coach Ed Migues)

Boys Soccer: tryouts 8-10 a.m., Aug. 1-2-3, Carrboro High School. (Coach Jared Drexler)

Girls Tennis: Aug. 15, time is TBD, at Carrboro High School. (Coach Jon Noyes)

Volleyball: 9-11 a.m. & 3-5 p.m., Aug. 1; then 9-11 a.m. and 3-5 p.m. Aug. 2. Must attend all sessions for tryouts. (Coach Steve Scanga)

Chapel Hill High School

Cross Country: (Tryouts) 6 p.m., Aug. 1 (Coach Joan Nesbit Mabe – joannesbitmabe@gmail.com)

Field Hockey: Aug. 1-5, each day 6-8:30 p.m. (Coach Anna Long – anna.christian.long@gmail.com)

Football: 7:30-10 a.m., Aug. 1 (Coach Issac Marsh – imarsh@chccs.k12.nc.us)

Girls Golf: Aug. 8, time & site TBA (Coach Jim Williams – jimwilliamschhsgolfcoach@gmail.com)

Boys Soccer: tryouts Aug. 1, two sessions – 7:30-9:30 a.m. & 6:30-8 p.m. (Coach Curtis – jcurtis@chccs.k12.nc.us)

Girls Tennis: 8 a.m., Aug. 4. (Coach Neil Alderman – nga202@me.com)

Volleyball: 9-11:30 a.m., Aug. 1 (Coach Ross Fields – coach.ross.fields@gmail.com)

East Chapel Hill High School

Cross Country: 6-7:30 p.m., Aug. 10, at the Wildcat Stadium Track. (Coach Steve Marquis – smarquis@chccs.k12.nc.us)

Field Hockey: 6-7:30 p.m., Aug. 3-7, at the East Chapel Hill softball field; (Coach Susan Taylor – setaylor@chccs.k12.nc.us)

Football: 7-10 a.m., Aug. 1. (Coach Ryan Johnson – rjohnson@chccs.k12.nc.us)

Girls Golf: first practice, 3 p.m., Aug 1, at Chapel Hill Country Club. (Coach Henry Essey – heegolfin@aol.com)

Boys Soccer: Aug 3-6, two sessions each day – 8-10 a.m. & 6-8 p.m. each day. (Coach Austin Collins – austintcollins@gmail.com)

Girls Tennis: Aug. 5-7, 8-10 a.m. each day, at the East Tennis. (Coach Nick Walker – nwalker38@nc.rr.com)

Volleyball: Aug. 3-5, two sessions each day – 9-11 a.m. & 4-6 p.m. – at Wildcat Gym. (Coach Michelle Wood – mwood@chccs.k12.nc.us)

  Comments