Garner Cleveland Record

School Notes

Wake Tech honors

A number of Garner and Clayton residents earned academic honors during the spring semester at Wake Technical Community College in Raleigh. The following were named to the President’s List with 4.0 averages:

Garner – Serene Ahmad, Katie Ledford Anthony, Samantha Faye Bradley, Ariadna Chacon, Nancy Morgan Corzine, Leslie Renee Crumpler, Eileen Fitzgerald, Dylan Garner Grissom, Jennifer Dale Grove, Laura Carroll Hawks, Lorrinda Kaye Janik, Aaron Troy Johnson, Brianna Elizabeth Larson, Kristie Lynn Lee, Mark A. Marino, Patricia Anne Mills, Cassidy Marie Mock, Jennifer L. Moore, Nathaniel Hunter Odham, Douglas Rifenburg, Terry Dale Robertson, Leland Keith Rogers, Jennifer Lyn Saville, Holly Catherine Smith, Sarah Catherine Squires, Douglas Lamar Todt, Melissa A. Wahl and John Gregory Weiss.

Clayton – Erin Blackmon, Casey William Chadwick, David Robert Creech, Melissa Dearman, Nicholas Joachim Roger Evans, Talal Foz, Philip Rodney France, Kimberley Sutton Fuller, Linneth Samantha Hudson, Thomas James Jarman, Vonrita Tanetta Lavern Johnson-Manley, Terry Wayne Pack, Jocelyn Darice Riddick and Ronald Douglas Rudd.

The following were named to the Dean’s List with grade point averages of 3.5 or better:

Garner – Ayham Mohamad Abdel, Haneen Ahmad, Brad Lamont Austin, Amy Nicole Bailey, Diane Catherine Bailey, Christopher Douglas Baker, Adam David Bliss, Christopher L. Brown, Joshua John Buchta, Tony Burzynski, Craig William Carlisle, Timothy Charterina, Youness Chokiri, Susan Glass Cotton, Travis John Czysz, David Wayne Dunderman Jr., Nicholas T. Giglio, Veronica Gale Hawkins, Dorothy Jean Holmes, Jenny Lee Howland, Erica L. Kemeny, Bryant Adam Kephart, Christopher J. King, Vivian Lee, John G. McLamb, Carlos Manuel Reyes Merced, Alex Tyler Morris, Keegan Gregg Norris, Craig Marvin Oliver, Diane Ellizabeth Palmieri, Owen Stephenson Phillips, Joshua H. Poole, Christina Allison Schaefer, Sarah P. Seekins, Jenifer Louise Staton, Matthew Shane Stepps, Samara Deanne Swinson, Sharron Michelle Thomas, Ronald Wayne Watkins and Kaseen Watson.

Clayton – Leigh Ann Allan, Pablo Diego Amestica, Edward Courtney Burgess, Madison Lauren Crawford, Kayliegh Ann Estabrook, William Maurice Evans, Sharon E. Falconer, Kelly F. Hall, Ashvill Randolph Hayes, Sarah Imler, Brandon Scott Lee, Pamela Louise Loveland, Lea P. Rutter, Lonny L. Snow, Ryan Anthony Stermer, Victoria Yvonne Thomas, Chris Leo Walters, Matthew Lee Waring and Kristin Thorpe Young.

Garner graduate headed to West Point

U.S. Sen. Richard Burr has nominated Jared Miller to attend the U.S. Military Academy at West Point. A graduate of Garner High School, Miller is the son of Robert and Susan Miller.

Student honored

Sydney Southerland, a student at Southeast Raleigh High School, received the Sud-Freemark Award of Service at the 43rd annual Youth Legislative Assembly. This award goes to students who took part in the YLA for four years, with three of those years being on the leadership team.

Outstanding employees

The Johnston County school system has named its latest employees of the month. They are William Barnes, head custodian at North Johnston High School, and Yvette Davis, media specialist at West Johnston High School.

Here’s what Barnes’ nominator had to say:

“He has been around North Johnston High since ninth grade. He works well with the kids here at school. He encourages them to stay in school and get an education. I have seen him go beyond the call of duty. He has broken up fights; he has cleaned many messy bathrooms and he has cleaned many dirty classrooms but never complains. He is a caring young man.”

Here’s what Davis’ nominator had to say:

“I am a senior at West Johnston High School. Last year, Yvette Davis taught my AP language and composition class, and she was a remarkable teacher. This year, she volunteered to assist me with my Morehead-Cain Scholarship application. She spent much time in advising me and making sure everything was perfect. When I was notified that I was a semifinalist, Ms. Davis was thrilled and began coaching me as well as connecting me with former Morehead-Cain scholars. Ms. Davis went above and beyond for me. When I was notified that I did not make the finals, I was very disappointed to say the least, but Ms. Davis immediately lifted my spirits.”