Midtown Raleigh News

School Notes

Franklin Academy wins in bridge contest

A teams from Franklin Academy in Wake Forest placed third in the N.C. Department of Transportation’s 2012 Model Bridge Building Competition. The team, which won $300, was among eight statewide winners.

Contestants were judged on oral presentations, written reports and design drawings, as well as on the structural efficiency of their balsa wood models. Entries were divided into high school and middle school categories.

The Franklin Academy team won its division by presenting an entertaining skit based on the film “The Matrix” and building a lightweight yet strong bridge model that demonstrated a high degree of structural efficiency.

“It took a lot of preparation, but the experience was amazing,” said Olivia Rudiak, 17, a first-year team member.

Team members were Calvin Barker, Cassidy Celeste, Ian Christine, Asia Dillard, Lindsay Emer, Miranda Ezell, Kristen Fulcher, Alec Heroux, John Huffman, Katerina Koloustroubis, Brianna Kusilek, Nathan Moore, Courtney Murphy, Jimmy Park, Yousef Rahman and Olivia Rudiak.

Pamela Koloustroubis and Stacey Kaufman served as advisers.

Outstanding middle school students

The Raleigh Elks Lodge #735 Scholarship Committee held its “Outstanding Middle School Students” scholarship recognition event on April 19. One boy and one girl from each of the 20 middle schools in the Raleigh lodge’s jurisdiction were recognized and received a $50 savings bond.

The following middle school students were recognized: Keziah Smalls and De’Andre Webb from Carnage; Drake Dais and Chidubem Nwakuche from Carroll; Jackson Melton and Danyae Bellamy from Centennial; Lawson Wall and Jamie “Grace” Shannon from Daniels; Emily Stine and Jonathan Ward from Durant Road; Aniyaa Artis and David Mitchell Sielaty Jr. from East Millbrook; Gabrielle Underwood and Justin Sauer from East Wake; Abdul-Malik Antonio Harrison and Alyssa “Kallie” Faulkner from Heritage; Sloane Coble and Elber Muniz Carrillo from Leesville Road; Di Rahlan and Cameron Nicole Coleal from Martin; Hailey Vaughan and Jacob Satisky from Moore Square; Jamison Rich and Erika Bell from Wake Forest-Rolesville; Oluwatoke Lojede and Alex Dausch from Wakefield; and Gissell Ruiz-Carias, Kiana Boyd and John Weber from West Millbrook.

Technology showcase night

Sanderson High School is holding a technology showcase from 7 to 8:30 p.m. Thursday, May 3, in the school library. Student presentations will demonstrate how technologies enhance their learning. Prospective students and their families can learn about Prezi, Photo Story, Tikatok online books, Turning Point Student Response clickers, student websites, animated Spanish language videos, Tagxedo, website design and website programming. For more information, contact Katherine Shealy at 919-881-4806 or kshealy@wcpss.net.

Joyner Choir wins honors

The Joyner Magnet Elementary Gold Choir took first place in the elementary division at the Music in The Parks competition at Busch Gardens at Williamsburg, Va., for the second year in a row. The students achieved an overall rating of excellent while competing with schools from six states.

Spring Fling carnival at Fred Olds

Fred Olds Elementary Parent Teacher Association will hold its annual Spring Fling carnival from 6 to 8 p.m. Friday, May 11. The carnival will feature games and activities for all ages including a bouncy castle, a dunking booth, a real fire truck, a sports area, an arts and crafts area, a bake sale, food and a silent auction. The silent auction will include a one-day Park Hopper Passes to Walt Disney World for four people, tickets to Carowinds, an overnight stay at the Umstead Hotel with breakfast at Herons Restaurant, activities in New York City, an American Girl doll, Lily Pulitzer/Palm Avenue accessories, Lego baskets and original art by local artists. Proceeds from the event provide support for programs funded by the Parent Teacher Association at the school. For more information, call Holly Mitchko at 404-895-1043.

Classroom technology grants offered

Wake Electric is offering Classroom Technology grants for the 2012-2013 school year.

Eligible teachers include public school K-12 and community college teachers working in Durham, Franklin, Granville, Johnston, Nash, Vance and Wake counties. Grants will be awarded in any discipline for specific technology such as computers, digital cameras, scanners and software. The technology must benefit the students in the classroom.

The deadline is Sept. 12. Teachers can apply for grants up to $3,000. Only online applications will be accepted. For more information or to apply, visit www.wemc.com/classawards.aspx, email communications@wemc.com or call 919-863-6312 or 1-800-474-6300.