Midtown Raleigh News

School Briefs

Teacher of Year finalists named

The Wake County school system last week announced its 12 finalists for the 2013-14 Teacher of the Year award.

The finalists are Lisa Amador of Yates Mill Elementary in Raleigh, Sonya Brown of Smith Elementary in Garner, Elizabeth Crowell of Davis Drive Middle in Cary, Laurie Dillman of Fuquay-Varina High, Amy-Lyn Foster of Lockhart Elementary in Knightdale, Lindsay Hamrick of Martin Middle in Raleigh, Dianne Jones of Wiley Elementary in Raleigh, Anne Mayer of Sycamore Creek Elementary in Raleigh, Luke Miles of Durant Road Middle in Raleigh, Lynn Rustay of Holly Ridge Elementary in Holly Springs, Rachael Stauffer of Olive Chapel Elementary in Apex, and Keri Woronka of Pleasant Union Elementary in Raleigh.

The winner will be announced May. 9.

Staff writer Keung Hui

Wake names principal for Root Elementary

The Wake County school board last week appointed Blaine Clark to be the new principal of Root Elementary School in Raleigh.

Clark, the assistant principal at Millbrook Elementary School since 2007, will receive a salary of $82,640. Clark was to start at Root on Monday.

Clark replaces Lewis Ware, who left to become a principal in the Chapel Hill-Carrboro school system.

Staff writer Keung Hui