Smithfield Herald

School Notes: June 14

Dean’s List student

Dakota Hill of Clayton has been named to the spring semester Honors List at Graceland University in Lamoni, Iowa. To qualify, a student must earn a grade point average of 3.65 to 3.99.

Top custodian

The Johnston County school has named its custodian of the year. He is Jaycee Hines, head custodian at Riverwood Elementary School in Clayton.

Bob Jones Dean’s List

Four students have been named to the spring semester Dean’s List at Bob Jones University in Greenville, S.C. They are Tyler Horkavy of Benson and Krista Daniel, Kyle Jensen and Mikayla Knight, all of Clayton.

To qualify, a student must earn a grade point average of 3.0 to 3.74.

Louisburg graduate

Lauren Ryals of Clayton graduated this spring from Louisburg College.

Scholarship winners

Two Johnston County students have received $500 FFA scholarships from AgCarolina Farm Credit. They are Katelyn Honeycutt of Corinth-Holders High School and Kelsey Lynne Bentley of North Johnston High.

Scholarship winner at Corinth Holders

Lindsey Jennings of Corinth Holders High School has received a $1,250 scholarship from the Alpha Beta Chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma, a honor society for women educators.

Jennings is the daughter of Jeff and Lou Jennings. She will attend Campbell University as a Presidential Scholar.

Barton College honors

A number of students from Johnston County earned academic honors during the spring semester at Barton College in Wilson.

The following, listed by community, were named to the President’s List with 4.0 averages:

Benson – Victoria Anne Jordan and Latifah Graves Nixon.

Clayton – Amber Christine Creech, Brenda Kay Light and Donovan Eugene Woods.

Four Oaks – Linda P. Eldridge.

Kenly – Crystal Dawn Fulghum.

Lucama – Daniel Mark Evans, Benjamin James Hawley and Brandon Michael Skinner.

Princeton – Alyssa Jordan Spell.

Selma – Zachery Austin Corbett.

Smithfield – Elizabeth Stone Ashley, Jennifer Baker Moore, and Theresa Melody Scott.

The following were named to the Dean’s List with GPAs of 3.3 or better”

Benson – Amber Renee Trimpe.

Clayton – Gabriella Nicole Barrera, Hannah Nicole Caswell, Staci Douglas, Maryam Ernestine Duran, Brandi Hutaff Gardner, Samantha Lauren Hagy, Jennifer Lee Jenkins, Whitney Pilotte Price, Rachel Anne Schoonover and Casey J. Utley.

Four Oaks – Sabrina Gail Johnson, Kayla Holmes Lee and Andrea Chante Wilson.

Kenly – Giovanni Amado-Sanchez, Courtney Brook Bordeaux, Ashley Brooke Dowd, Allison Nicole Nixon and Ashley Elaine Vaughan.

Princeton – Hunter David Hinson and Teresa Renae Holland.

Smithfield – Andrew Blake Mitchell, Brittany Nicole Robinson and Chardesia Cardetta Williams.

Wake Forest graduate

Sarah Anderson of Selma graduated this spring from Wake Forest University.