Wake County

N&O journalists win 40 press awards

The News & Observer and its community newspapers won a combined 40 awards in the North Carolina Press Association’s annual statewide competition.

Awards were presented Thursday night at a ceremony in Chapel Hill.

The honors included special awards in several categories. The N&O staff won the Henry Lee Weathers Freedom of Information Award for the series “Checks Without Balances: Big Pay in Tough Times.”

Joseph Neff won a special Media and the Law Award for best series, and Jane Stancill tied with the staff of The Daily Tar Heel for the Duke University/Green-Rossiter Award for Distinguished Newspaper Work in Higher Education.

Andrew Kenney won the Associated Press’ Walter Spearman Award for outstanding writing by a journalist with two years’ experience or less, and Aaron Moody of the Eastern Wake News won the Hugh Morton Photographer of the Year award for community newspapers.

First-place awards for The N&O and its community newspapers were:

▪ Staff for online breaking news coverage.

▪ Andrea Weigl for feature writing.

▪ Tim Stevens for sports feature writing.

▪ Corey Lowenstein for feature photography.

▪ Staff for features section design.

▪ Mark Schultz of the Chapel Hill News for feature photography.

▪ Jonathan M. Alexander of The Durham News for education reporting.

▪ Mark Schultz of The Durham News for arts and entertainment reporting.

▪ Jim Wise of The Durham News for news enterprise reporting.

▪ J. Mike Blake of the Southwest Wake News for sports coverage.

Second-place awards:

▪ Staff for general excellence.

▪ Mandy Locke, David Raynor and Steve Riley for public service.

▪ Staff for investigative reporting.

▪ Ethan Hyman for sports photography.

▪ Luke DeCock for sports columns.

▪ Staff for general excellence for newspaper websites.

▪ Staff for sports coverage.

▪ Staff for special section.

▪ David Menconi for arts and entertainment coverage.

▪ Christine Adamczyk of The Cary News for sports photography.

▪ Mark Schultz of the Chapel Hill News for feature photography.

▪ Elliott Warnock of the Chapel Hill News for sports columns.

▪ Mark Schultz of The Durham News for arts and entertainment reporting.

▪ Staff of the Clayton News-Star for sports coverage.

Third-place awards:

▪ Mandy Locke, David Raynor and Rick Rothacker for investigative reporting.

▪ Andrew Carter for sports news reporting.

▪ Andrew Carter for sports features writing.

▪ Travis Long for general news photography.

▪ Ethan Hyman for sports feature photo.

▪ Staff for appearance and design.

▪ Ned Barnett, Burgetta Eplin Wheeler and Jim Jenkins for editorial page.

▪ Paul A. Specht of The Cary News for profile feature.

▪ Paul A. Specht of The Cary News for education reporting.

▪ Staff of the Smithfield Herald for sports coverage.

Honorable mention:

▪ Martha Quillin for the Thomas Wolf Award for Outstanding Writing.