Wake County names finalists for Principal and Assistant Principal of the Year

The Wake County school system announced Wednesday its finalists for the 2014-15 Principal and Assistant Principal of the Year awards.

The finalists for Principal of the Year are Dhedra Lassiter of Rolesville Middle School; Timothy Locklair of Holly Springs High School; Steven Moore of Fuquay-Varina Elementary School; Winston Pierce of Farmington Woods Elementary School in Cary, and Teresa Winstead of Durant Road Elementary School in Raleigh.

The finalists for Assistant Principal of the Year are Wendel Evans of Rolesville Middle School; Kristine Harris of Cary Elementary School; Lacey Peckham of Middle Creek High School in Cary; Travis Shillings of Brassfield Elementary School in Raleigh, and Vann Taylor of Timber Drive Elementary School in Garner.

The district’s principals and assistant principals nominated the finalists.

The winners will be announced at a celebration on Oct. 8 at Marbles Kids Museum in Raleigh. The Principal of the Year winner will represent Wake in the state competition.

Related stories from Raleigh News & Observer