Triangle principals among finalists for NC Principal of the Year

School leaders in Durham and Chatham counties are among the eight finalists for 2015 North Carolina Principal of the Year.

Tonya Williams, the principal of Sherwood Githens Middle School in Durham, is the finalist from Region III. Christopher Poston, the principal of Pittsboro Elementary School in Chatham County, is the finalist from Region V.

“Congratulations to our eight regional recipients who exemplify the outstanding instructional leaders in schools across the state. Our students graduate career and college ready because of their relentless dedication,” said State Superintendent June Atkinson in a written statement.

A state selection committee will review the portfolios of the eight regional winners and conduct an extensive interview process before selecting the 2015 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year.

The winner will be announced May 1 during a ceremony in Cary. The winner receives a $3,000 check for personal use and/or professional development, and a $3,000 check for his or her school to purchase materials or other equipment. The winner also will serve a one-year term as adviser to the State Board of Education.

The regional winners will receive $1,000 for personal use and $1,000 for their schools.