Wake Ed

24 Wake County magnet schools win national honors

UPDATE: It turns out that 24, not 23, Wake County magnet schools were honored. Wake sent out a new press release Friday saying that Zebulon Elementary School had been omitted from the earlier list of Schools of Excellence.

Wake County school officials announced Thursday that 24 magnet schools have received national awards.

Combs, Conn, Farmington Woods, Fuller, Hunter, Millbrook, Powell, Washington and Zebulon elementary schools; Carnage and Centennial Campus middle schools; and Southeast Raleigh High School received the School of Excellence Award from Magnet Schools of America, a trade organization. Those 12 schools are now in the running to win the Simpson Distinguished Merit Award, which goes to the top magnet school in the nation.

In addition, Bugg, Douglas, Smith, Underwood, Wendell and Wiley elementary schools; East Garner, Ligon and Martin middle schools; and Enloe, Garner and Millbrook high schools received the School of Distinction award.