Wake Ed

Wake County names principals for four new elementary schools

The Wake County school board announced Tuesday the principals who will lead four new elementary schools opening next year.

Marion Evans will become principal of Beaverdam Elementary School in Raleigh, with a salary of $103,619. Evans has been principal of Zebulon Elementary School since 2002.

Steven Moore will become principal of Oakview Elementary School in Holly Springs, with a salary of $90,058. Moore has been principal of Fuquay-Varina Elementary School since 2009.

Burton Batten will become principal of Pleasant Grove Elementary School in Cary, with a salary of $86,802. Batten has been principal of Laurel Park Elementary School in Cary since 2010.

Robin Swaim will become principal of White Oak Elementary School in Cary, with a salary of $98,081. Swaim has been principal of Morrisville Elementary School since 2004.

All four principals will start their new jobs on Feb. 1.

A fifth new school, Pine Hollow Middle in Raleigh, is opening next year as well. Larry Livengood is leaving East Millbrook MIddle School in Raleigh to lead Pine Hollow.

On Tuesday, retired principal Cathy Williams was named East Millbrook’s interim principal for Jan. 4 to March 4.