Under the Dome

NC Senate Democrats choose leaders

The Associated Press reports that state Sen. Dan Blue will remain in his role as minority leader.

The Senate Democratic Caucus met Wednesday to choose its leadership for the coming session. Blue, a Democrat from Raleigh, is a longtime member of the General Assembly.

Democrats also chose newcomer Sen. Terry Van Duyn of Asheville to be minority whip. Van Duyn was appointed in April to serve out the term of longtime Sen. Martin Nesbitt of Asheville, who died in March, and served as minority leader.

Sen. Josh Stein of Raleigh declined to run again for minority whip, the position he held this past session. Sen. Ben Clark of Raeford was chosen caucus secretary.