Under the Dome

McCrory names appointees to Coastal Resources Commission

CORRECTION: This post has been updated to correct the spelling of Frank Gorham's name.

The Coastal Resources Commission once again has enough members to get some work done.

Gov. Pat McCrory on Tuesday announced his appointments to the commission, which had been reduced to just four members after 11 saw their terms ended by legislature on July 30.

House Speaker Thom Tillis and Senate leader Phil Berger get two name two appointees each.

The commission’s next meeting is in December where they will take up variances to coastal rules, receive an update on sea level rise and a feasibility report for the Care Fear region.

McCrory’s appointees are:

• Frank Gorham of New Hanover County and Greg Lewis of Carteret County fill the two seats reserved for a coastal property owner or someone experienced in land development. Gorman, the owner of Sandstone Properties, will serve a two-year term and takes over as chair of the board. Lewis, chairman of the Carteret County Commissioners will serve a one-year term.

• Bill Naumann of Craven County and Neal Andrew of New Hanover County fills the two seats requiring experience in engineering or a marine-related science. The president of Transformation Venture Capital in New Bern and a former CEO of Hatteras Yachts, Naumann has a B.S. in civl engineering from Purdue University. He’ll serve a two-year term. Andrew is the president of Andrew Consulting Engineers and received his bachelor’s in civil engineering degree from N.C. State and his master’s from Georgia Tech. His is a one-year term.

Suzanne Dorsey of Brunswick County fills the seat requiring experience in a coastal-related business. She is the executive director of the Bald Head Island Conservancy and Smith Land Trust. She’s also a marine sciences adjunct professor at UNC-Wilmington. She’ll serve a two-year term.

Benjamin Simmons Jr., who owns land in Hyde and Tyrell counties that produces cotton, corn, soybeans, wheat and sorghum, fills the seat requiring experience in coastal agriculture. Simmons, who is also the owner of Hyde Outdoor Adventures, will serve a two-year term.

Current commissioners Renee Cahoon, Lee Wynns and Bob Emory will continue to serve with each getting a one-year term. Cahoon is former mayor of Nags Head; Wynns is a retired president of Perry-Wynns Fish Company and a former mayor of Colerain; and Emory is the environmental manager at Weyerhauser’s Southern Timberlands Operations.