Under the Dome

House nominates 15 for UNC Board of Governors

House nominees for the UNC Board of Governors include six current members and nine others.

Sixteen seats of the 32-member university system governing board are up for election this year. The House and Senate each elect half of the open seats.

Current members nominated for re-election are: James Holmes Jr., a Raleigh businessman; Dick Taylor, a Lumberton business owner; David Powers, a Winston-Salem businessman; Mary Ann Maxwell, a Goldsboro businesswoman; Raiford Trask III, a Wilmington real estate developer; and Hari Nath, a Cary businessman.

Others nominated are: Christopher Derrick, a Lake Junaluska attorney; Pearl Burris-Floyd of Dallas, NC, a vice president of the Greensboro Partnership; Matthew-Todd Johnson, a Monroe insurance agent; Walter Davenport, a Raleigh accountant and consultant who previously served on the Board of Governors; John Alex Mitchell, a Durham developer; C. Philip Byers of Forest City, president of Challenge Foundation Properties and trustee at Western Carolina University; Joe Thomas Knott III, a Raleigh lawyer; Ed Broyhill, Winston-Salem businessman who has served as a trustee at Winston-Salem State and Appalachian State universities; Dr. Dwight Perry, a Durham ophthalmologist and trustee at N.C. Central University.

The Senate’s nominees include four current members.

The UNC Board of Governors formed a nominating committee Wednesday to set up three committees that will participate in the search for a successor to UNC President Tom Ross. The Republican-dominated board acted in January to force the early retirement of Ross, who will leave the job next year.

Related stories from Raleigh News & Observer