UNC Now

UNC non-conference basketball schedule released

North Carolina’s Justin Jackson (44), Isaiah Hicks (4) and Joel Berry II (2) celebrate with seven seconds left in the NCAA national championship game against Gonzaga in April.
North Carolina’s Justin Jackson (44), Isaiah Hicks (4) and Joel Berry II (2) celebrate with seven seconds left in the NCAA national championship game against Gonzaga in April. ehyman@newsobserver.com

The highlights of North Carolina’s 2017-18 non-conference basketball schedule – the game against Michigan in the ACC/Big Ten Challenge, the appearance in the PK80 tournament in Portland – were already known, but UNC released its non-ACC schedule in its entirety on Friday.

The Tar Heels, last seen in early April winning their sixth national championship, will begin the season on Nov. 10 at home against Northern Iowa. Ten days later, on Nov. 20, UNC will begin a trip to the west coast with a game at Stanford, before the Tar Heels head to Portland, Ore.

They’re one of 16 teams, along with Duke, participating in the PK80, a tournament that will honor the legacy of Nike founder Phil Knight. UNC and Duke are in separate eight-team fields, and will not play one another in the event.

UNC’s first game in the PK80 will be on Nov. 23, Thanksgiving Day, against Portland. The Tar Heels will play Arkansas or Oklahoma on Nov. 24, and either Connecticut, Georgetown, Michigan State or Oregon on Nov. 26.

When UNC returns from Portland, it will play its marquee non-conference home game against Michigan on Nov. 29 in the ACC/Big Ten Challenge. The Tar Heels will play against Davidson on Dec. 1 in Charlotte, and at Tennessee on Dec. 17.

UNC is also back in the CBS Sports Classic for the fourth consecutive season. It will play against Ohio State, which it defeated in the same event in 2014, in New Orleans on Dec. 23. Game times and television information will be released at a later date.

Andrew Carter: 919-829-8944, @_andrewcarter

UNC’s non-conference schedule

Fri., Oct. 27 vs. Barton College (exhibition game, Smith Center, 7:30 p.m.)

Fri., Nov. 10 vs. Northern Iowa (Smith Center)

Wed., Nov. 15 vs. Bucknell (Smith Center)

Mon., Nov. 20 at Stanford

Thurs., Nov. 23 vs. Portland (PK80 in Portland, Ore.)

Fri., Nov. 24 vs. Arkansas or Oklahoma (PK80 in Portland, Ore.)

Sun., Nov. 26 vs. Connecticut, Georgetown, Michigan State or Oregon (PK80 in Portland, Ore.)

Wed., Nov. 29 vs. Michigan (ACC/Big Ten Challenge, Smith Center)

Fri., Dec. 1 at Davidson (Spectrum Center in Charlotte)

Sun., Dec. 3 vs. Tulane (Smith Center)

Wed., Dec. 6 vs. Western Carolina (Smith Center)

Sun., Dec. 17 at Tennessee

Wed., Dec. 20 vs. Wofford (Smith Center)

Sat., Dec. 23 vs. Ohio State (CBS Sports Classic in New Orleans)

  Comments